We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cider ”
Review of The Cider Barn

The Cider Barn
Ranked #3 of 46 Restaurants in Cheddar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$10
Cuisines: British, Bar, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours
Description: We open most days from 12 & the classic barn menu is always available to nourish a faithful Barner & newcomer alike, on some days we offer more but aim to never offer less... We close the kitchen door depending on the weather, cider consumption and the phase of the moon so if you're thinking of visiting please call to check and avoid disappointment & Jason flapping! Available from 12 daily - our famous Homemade Barn Bowls including Jason's Hot Chilli, tasty casseroles & vegetarian choices all served with chunky bread, filled rolls, classic ploughman's and Somerset Tapas. Tuesday is Home Comfort Night with a hot special being offered from 6pm... will it be faggots? will it be peas? You'll have to wait and see! Check out our Facebook page for details on the day. Thursday Night Steaks - sourced locally and served with triple cooked chips and trimmings start at a fantastic price of £12... At the weekends & everyday throughout the summer school holidays we open our classy trailer to provide our Trailer Trash Menu which includes the mighty Barn Burger, Lemon & Herb Chicken, Halloumi & Mushroom Stack and a cracking little kids menu.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We popped in here to sample some local cider. Great atmosphere & was recommended some cider! Grabbed some to take away also, really friendly & laid back atmosphere.

Thank t444myj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonl749, Owner at The Cider Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi! Thank you for your review. Pleased you enjoyed yourself and we hope to see you again soon. Jason & the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

I stopped a the lodges just behind the barn. We arrived and waited for our lodge to be ready. We waited in the cider barn and was welcomed here by the owners. Offers us complimentary drinks due to the lodge not being quite ready.

They treated you like one of their own. Even gave us a lift back from cheddar without us even asking.

The rhubarb cider is top-notch. Even took some home with me.

Thank Callum D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonl749, Owner at The Cider Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Callum, thank you for your review. We work closely with the lodges and were only too happy to help - we hope you had a great stay. The rhubarb cider is one of our best and most popular!
From Jason & the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018 via mobile

Thursday nights they do this best steaks around(I’m very fussy) �never had a bad one , highly recommend.

Thank Lisa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonl749, Owner at The Cider Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much Lisa, we take pride in our local steaks! Hope to see you soon.
Jason & the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

Three stars is probably a bit mean, we didn't have a meal and the drinks were fine. It is pretty basic and great fun if you enjoy people watching. The place is full of locals and they made you feel welcome.

Thank Grace C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonl749, Owner at The Cider Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Thank you for your review, please re visit so we can try get the two other star :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2018 via mobile

Stopped off here today great place really chatty friendly folk the nicest we’ve met on our trip, was great to chill in a comfy friendly atmosphere and enjoy a tipple

Thank Sass33uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonl749, Owner at The Cider Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Thank you for your review, glad you enjoyed the barn experience :) come back soon x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cider Barn also viewed

 

Been to The Cider Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing