We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect one week stay in Bath”

Review of Abbey View 7028

Abbey View's beautiful Bed
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Abbey View's beautiful Bed
The Lovely Living Room More lovely Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
Abbey View's beautiful Bed
The Lovely Living Room
More lovely Kitchen
Kitchen table and Dining  View of Abbey
Bright Bedroom
Lovely Sofa and spacious room
Nightview of the Christmas Market from the kitchen window
The gorgeous Abbey itself
View of the Crystal Palace pub through your front windows
The Stairs to Abbey View
The Tree in Abbey Green
Roman Baths - right next door
More bright and happy Kitchen
More of the happy Lounge
Parade Gardens just outside your door
Abbey House
More bright and comfy bed
Welcome from Laura's Townhouse Apartments.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Bath, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Caroline...
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not as described on Web site. Awful customer service”
Reviewed 31 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

A total disappointment from start to finish and a total waste of over £300. Told a greeter would need us in a parking space, this did not happen and it took us nearly 90 minutes of driving around a city that we did not know to find one space. The apartment is very tired looking, the shower was a dribble, the bed OMG was shocking, you needed pain killers to get to sleep and more when you woke up. The flat was very cold, the windows had mould on the inside, the sensor lights when you walked up the stairs would switch off half way up, carpets were tatty, pillows should have been thrown away, light bulbs not working, the whole thing was way below standard. We had no help when we called in twice to say we could not park, the only suggestion was to park in the multi storey and this was full also. We have tried to resolve this with the booking company, Laura's Town house apartments but the only reply we got was that she should have contacted them on New Years Eve !!! and they would have resolved things... Im not sure during our 2 day visit we would have fancied the decorators / plumbers / carpet fitters working under our feet. We left a day early as we could not face another night in the awful bed. Totally ruined our New year eve celebrations which was our gift to each other instead of Christmas presents. We would have received a far better standard of room at the local travel lodge / holiday inn.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Feb 2017
Thank you for your review for your booking from the 30th of December to the 2nd of January and we are sad to hear that you were disappointed in your stay at Abbey View. It is important to us that all guests have an enjoyable stay, unfortunately things can happen and we do our utmost to resolve them as soon as possible.
The only phone call we received was on the 30th of December in the afternoon to say that although the greeter had helped try and find a parking space in the central zone the guests still couldn’t find one and because they had tried for 90 minutes they wanted a full refund. We suggested that they could park in one of the large long stay car parks for a couple of hours until rush hour had died down so it would be easier to find a space. The guests were going to call back if they still couldn’t find a space and we didn’t hear anything from them during their stay. We don’t advertise a parking space and in our correspondence say ‘there is no designated parking with the flat but there is a FREE PARKING PERMIT for street parking near the flat in the central zone’. We were sadly unaware that during their stay there were any issues. The apartment receives lovely reviews and is filled with antique furniture. We haven’t had any complaints about the mattress or shower and if its turned up to full it doesn’t dribble. This could have been resolved with a quick phone call. There are lots of stand alone radiators in the apartment and we do have spares in the office if guests are cold. Our office is a 10 minute walk from the apartment and it would have been easy to pop a couple around. The sensor switches are checked and passed every year by the fire service.

All our properties are refurbished on a regular timetable but we will see if this needs to be brought forward for Abbey View. The carpets do need to be replaced and we are discussing this with the owner. The apartment is in a Grade 1 listed building right in the heart of Bath and is proven again and again to be popular.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexaT13x
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect one week stay in Bath”
Reviewed 31 March 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Staying at Abbey View in late December-early January was probably the most relaxing, pleasant, romantic holiday experience me and my husband ever had so far. The service provided by the lovely agency people was extremely friendly and accommodating. We loved the property because of its unmistakable Georgian charm, as well as a unique homely feel. In terms of location, this probably the best place to experience Bath from. You can see the Abbey and the Roman Baths from the kitchen window. And imagine waking up in the morning and cooking and eating breakfast while listening to various talented artists already playing out in the Abbey square, right beneath your windows. As for the small square visible from the main room's windows, with a big tree flowing graciously from its center towards the building, that must be the best picture-perfect dreamy image for me. All in all, a great place in an incredible location, and we will be coming back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything, it met our specific needs to a T
Liked least: Nothing, really
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Apr 2016
Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay in Abbey View and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LammyPie6...
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Central Location for Site Seeing Bath”
Reviewed 31 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Cannot fault the apartment - second floor, views from the kitchen of the Abbey, views from the bedroom/living room of the Abbey Green. Beautiful apartment with all amenities, spotlessly clean and room for storage. We were met and shown around the apartment and then left with they key and a local parking pass. The apartment is well equipped and beautifully decorated. Excellent location for eating out, right next to the Roman Baths and the Abbey and many restaurants within a couple of minutes walk. Bath is actually a small city and everywhere is easily reached on foot. Lots of great things to say. The only drawback was that the outside was a bit noisy with people talking out on the green late at night; but we are in the centre of the city, and with restaurants and a pub on the green, that is expected. The apartment was lovely and we would go again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and cleanliness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvin195...
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Ideal central location”
Reviewed 15 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Meeter and greeter was nice, situation fantastic, didn't use the car all week. The view of the Abbey Square was great though we only had 1 breakfast and 1 dinner in. There was so much choice for eating out.
Well equipped though Abbey View is, vegitarian breakfast at Bills is a must, we went twice!
We walked and walked, sampled Bath and other local beers, drank in the smallest pub, gin in the distillery, bus tours, river canal and city tours.
We needed another week and recommend staying here.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda G
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“lovely location”
Reviewed 20 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Spacious apartment in Georgian building very close to Abbey - could see it from one of the windows. Everything in there as you would expect and excellent customer serice as they posted on some forgotten jewellery immediately. We had a wonderful stay in a beautiful city and will return

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing