We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Don't hesitate just book!!!”

Review of The Wilderness

The Wilderness Bath
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Wilderness Bath
The Inglenook Lounge Log Fired Finnish Sauna House
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
76 reviews
The Wilderness Bath
The Inglenook Lounge
Log Fired Finnish Sauna House
TV Lounge
Dining room seats 18
Family bedroom sleeps 4!
The Kitchen
Double Bedroom
Lounge
Catered dinner parties with our own chef!
The lovely private rear garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
8 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Bath, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 76 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Amy F
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't hesitate just book!!!”
Reviewed 8 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

I spent ages researching a venue that could cater for my sisters hen party and was pretty apprehensive that the 21 of us might feel cramped wherever we booked. I stumbled across the wilderness and am incredibly happy that I took the plunge and booked it. The photo's do not do the place justice. It was spacious, comfortable and extremely well stocked. Sometimes houses that cater for large groups don't supply plates, cutlery, pots/pans etc etc but the wilderness had everything! I was so pleasantly surprise.
And the Sauna was amazing... they had it all prepared to use so all we had to do was light it. All the people at the Hen party loved it and i definitely can not take the credit.
Jo was so easy to talk to and at the end of an email an phone whenever I had questions. It was a great experience... so much so we're considering having a christmas with the whole family there!

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2016
thanks Amy, So pleased you all had such a good weekend. Sorry I didn't get to meet you on this occasion, hopefully I will next time.....
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katiebubb...
Redmond, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect for a fun family gathering”
Reviewed 25 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Just returned from a fantastic weekend at the Wilderness, with a large family group of 3 generations (16 people). The House is lovely and has an amazing garden perfect for keeping young children entertained. The house is really lovely and very spacious it has lots of space for all the family to both spend time together and smaller areas for a little peace and quiet too! Really easy to book and communicate with the owner - Jo and everything was exactly as we had requested.
We also used the catering service one evening which was fabulous - the chef Di was lovely and the food was wonderful. Thank you for a wonderful weekend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space was perfect for a large group
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2016
Delighted you had such a good weekend!
Sorry we didn't get to meet you on this occasion
Look forward to next time.......
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane A
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Miss”
Reviewed 7 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Absolutely fantastic weekend. The cottage is more amazing in real life it seems to ooze warmth and charm. The rooms and decor are lovely. The garden is big, private and well kept. We also arranged afternoon tea and it exceeded expectations the scones were freshly made that morning! Jo at the cottage was lovely to deal with too

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelek851
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Hen Weekend!”
Reviewed 27 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Perfect cottage for our hen weekend! Everyone in our group was impressed with The Wilderness and the spaces worked perfectly with what we had planned. The dinning room space was the best feature and we had both an evening meal and a 'Bake Off' activity in there. The room has curtains by both sets of doors which was a great idea as we could set the table/room for the big reveal! This allowed us to create a wow moment for the group as it was hidden away. The living room was handy for playing sing star and the kitchens were good communal space. There was ample parking and no need to worry about space for cars. Which is handy as other cottages closer to bath had limited space! There were shot glasses, wine glasses and plenty of mugs! The dishwasher was also a party saver! The sauna was very nice and fitted in with our spa morning at the cottage, which involved Sam (mobile beautician that was recommended) coming in to do treatments. Correspondence with Jo (one of the owners) has been very friendly and helpful. There was a welcome card and some bubbly in the fridge when we arrived and I received a phone call at the end of our stay asking if everything went well. Both gestures were greatly appreciated received and added a nice friendly and reassuring touch to the stay. I would recommend this cottage!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Dining room that could sit the whole party.
Liked least: The occasional spider! But that's the country side not the cottages fault!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Apr 2016
Thanks Adele, delighted that you all had such a great weekend. i hope we can look forward to welcoming you again one day...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bobby1232...
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fabulous long weekend - we're already planning another date to do it all over again!”
Reviewed 27 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We hired the cottage for a hen weekend for my sister and it's actually hard to describe how fabulous the cottage is. It was absolutely perfect for our needs, a big kitchen, big dining room, beautiful rooms, clean bedding, every utensil you can imagine & Jo even left us a welcome card & bubbly! When we arrived we were like excited school children viewing all the rooms & bathrooms, it was like a maze! It has so much character, it was spotless, it was spacious and the layout was perfect for what we needed. We arranged games in one lounge and set up a photo booth in the second lounge which worked so well. We used Libra minibuses Saturday into Bath and the service was spot on. The weekend went so fast and the cottage made the whole weekend feel really special. We are desperate to return and do it all again & I cannot recommend booking with Jo at the Wilderness enough, the lady is a saint keeping the place look brand new & extremely well kept. My sister had an unforgettable weekend. Thank you so much Jo! X

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Apr 2016
Delighted you all had such a great time! We look forward to welcoming you to The Wilderness again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$435
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing