We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect hen party cottage”

Review of The Wilderness

The Wilderness Bath
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Wilderness Bath
The Inglenook Lounge Log Fired Finnish Sauna House
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
76 reviews
The Wilderness Bath
The Inglenook Lounge
Log Fired Finnish Sauna House
TV Lounge
Dining room seats 18
Family bedroom sleeps 4!
The Kitchen
Double Bedroom
Lounge
Catered dinner parties with our own chef!
The lovely private rear garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
8 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Bath, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 76 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mummajule...
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The perfect hen party cottage”
Reviewed 24 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Delightful cottage, very well laid out. Comfy beds, plenty of bathroos and toilets. Our hen party had an amazing time. The kitchen very well equipped and spacious. We used the in house catering for our Friday night meal, which we all really enjoyed. We had fantastic weather so made full use of the garden from the minute we arrived. Sauna easy to use....we would all like to return. A real gem!
Jo the owner more than helpful..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The well laid out kitchen, we could all ( 16 ) of us gather for a cuppa
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hannah_L...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic hen weekend”
Reviewed 17 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Thanks so much to Jo for letting us stay in her lovely cottage - I booked this for a large group for a hen weekend and it was perfect. Really nicely kitted out with comfy bed, well-equipped kitchen. We also made use of the in-house catering service which was one less thing to organise! The sauna was a fantastic addition and helped to ease the sore heads on Saturday morning! We visited in October, and would love to return in the summer to make use of the beautiful garden and BBQ facilities.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony40...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent cottage for a family gathering”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

I booked the Wilderness for my parents golden wedding anniversary celebrations. It is a lovely cottage with good-sized rooms and a great garden (which the children really enjoyed). Great for young and old alike and I have no hesitation in recommending this property for large groups. Although we had some great days out we were just as happy relaxing at the cottage or in the garden - the hot weather helped!
Jo did a great job in making sure our visit went smoothly and we also used the in-house catering service for one family meal - it was superb (we chose the classic menu). Special thanks to Di and her assistant.
I also recommend visiting the Royal Oak at Hawkeridge - it is about 10-15 mins walk from the cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Garden
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing