We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place to stay and very close to Shrewsbury”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of No 53

Sitting room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sitting room
Queen Street Sitting room with log burner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
69 reviews
Sitting room
Queen Street
Sitting room with log burner
Kitchen
No 53 from the street
Double bedroom
View from french doors
Kitchen
Welcome gifts
Dining room ready for guest with wine & homemade biscuits
Double bedroom at front of house
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Single room
En-suite shower room
Family bathroom
Garden - Winter
From patio and BBQ looking down the garden
From garden looking towards house
Garden in June
Garden
Garden from washing line
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Shrewsbury, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 69 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
juliem512...
West Kirby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay and very close to Shrewsbury”
Reviewed 16 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

No 53 is a lovely, well equipped house. A ten minute walk into Shrewsbury along the river. We also caught a taxi one night and it was only £3.50. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be definitely visiting again next year. Rhian kept in touch and was very helpful to us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Nov 2016
Thankyou Julie. Glad you enjoyed your weekend in Shrewsbury. I look forward to hearing from you soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
_donnalyn...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Home from home fabulous !”
Reviewed 31 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Enjoyed fab week at no 53 which had every home comfort you could need even a hot water bottle ! Comfortable beds, extremely quiet had the best sleep in ages. Son aged 6 loved the dvd/book collection and the walk in wardrobe which became his desk and den area,
It was a short walk to the Weir where we were luck to see Salmon going upstream and a lovely stroll along river to town centre & Quarry park is beautiful. Ideal location for a perfect holiday. Rhian was there to greet us and was lovely plus we had a bottle of wine and home made biscuits which was a lovely gesture. Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable beds
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Nov 2016
Thanks for taking time to write such a lovely review. So glad you managed to see a salmon, good spotting! and that you all enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeMongo
Wittenberg, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
“Quiet, comfy home just off the Severn River trail to downtown!"”
Reviewed 5 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The home is exactly what we sought in terms of a row house just off the banks of the Severn River. We started each day with a walk along the river to Quarry Park, stopping for coffee and pastries at our favorite cafes. The three bedroom home is well maintained with all the conveniences one requires. Rhian was prompt and eager to help us familiarize ourselves with the details of the home. We really appreciated her cordial hospitality and availability. She insured that we were always comfortable.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Oct 2016
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Really pleased we lived up to expectations. I also love that walk along the river to the Quary park. Best wishes Rhian.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor T
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely, well-equipped 3-bedroom house with great access to town and countryside, perfect for families with children”
Reviewed 4 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is a great place for families, especially those with children and/or travelling with in-laws or a group and who want to have a holiday with easy access to Shrewsbury and surroundings but are not keen to be squeezed in multiple hotel rooms.

The house is in a great location for spending the day away, walking or visiting Attingham Park etc but having easy access to Shrewsbury without the need to drive and look for parking. The town centre is a 10-15min walk on the well-lit path along the river, used by many joggers.

The house is in a nice residential area, with a small supermarket and nice pubs quite close. The area is quiet and feels safe late in the evening, with quite a few neighbours walking their dogs. The house is very clean and is equipped with everything needed for a holiday. My boys were delighted to discover a cupboard full of children's books for all ages - there was no need for us to bring bedtime story books . There is also a well-selected range of books, maps of Shropshire and tourist information etc. Wi-Fi was excellent and accommodated multiple devices at the same time.

Rhian, the owner, was very friendly and gave us a lot of useful tips. We liked very much her home-made biscuits and the bottle of merlot she chose for us. We plan to come again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very nice house in a great location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Oct 2016
Thankyou Victor, glad you all enjoyed your trip. I'd be delighted to see you again, I look forward to hearing from you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Reviewed 8 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
21 Sep 2016
Thanks for taking the time to write a review Alison & Steve, much appreciated. You were great guests, I look forward to seeing you again next year
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing