We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
external shot showing enclosed yard - dog friendly!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
external shot showing enclosed yard - dog friendly!
kitchen/dining area Kitchen area - sink and hob also oven accessible to wheelchair users
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
external shot showing enclosed yard - dog friendly!
kitchen/dining area
Kitchen area - sink and hob also oven accessible to wheelchair users
two single electric beds can be clipped together to make superking size. Built-in wardrobe & drawers
downstairs bedroom showing superking bed
wetroom showing shower chair and support rails by toilet (washer/drier behind door in the corner)
cozy log fire for the winter months
single bedroom upstairs with vanity unit
inbuilt storage in downstairs bedroom
downstairs bedroom showing beds arranged as two singles
bedroom showing (hired) hoist by single bed raised with bed raisers
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Shrewsbury, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
bnadp71
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent cottage”
Reviewed 31 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Stayed here on a 4 night break with a wheelchair user, the cottage is so we'll set up there was no problems getting round. There is everything in the cottage you need. Karen the host is lovely , made us very welcome and an problem was sorted straight away. Bonus being able to bring are little dog. Lots to do around the area. Will definitely recommend the cheese room to others. A little gem in the heart of Shropshire.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2017
Thank you for your very kind review. It was lovely to meet you both and we're so pleased that the cottage had everything you needed to make your stay comfortable and easy with the wheelchair.
Best wishes,
Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy B
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent for people with disabilities”
Reviewed 10 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Relaxing break in the countryside, close to many attractions like Ironbridge. The cottage itself is well kitted out and homely. Clean and comfortable, it was a pleasure to stay and we hope to go back.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2017
Thank you, Wendy, for your complimentary review. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and that the cottage had all you needed. I would like to thank you too for leaving the cottage so clean and tidy. We look forward to welcoming you again sometime.
Best wishes,
Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Feb 2017
Thank you so much, Joy, you've made my day with that glowing review! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay in the cottage and that you found everything to your liking. This area of Shropshire is an absolute delight and there will be lots for you to discover when you return. We will look forward to seeing you all again sometime.
Best wishes, Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JCas20
Ealing, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous little cottage in stunning countryside”
Reviewed 4 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

I stayed here with my girlfriend for a relaxing long weekend away and couldn't fault a thing! The cottage is all newly finished and includes everything you need - we arrived late in the evening, so were very pleased to find fresh milk, teabags etc all provided and some lovely home-baked goodies :)
Also loved the log burning fire which was amazing to cosy up in front of after a long walk out in the country. The countryside is beautiful with plenty of nice walks - we liked talking to the nearby horses and watching the sun set behind the hills which turned the sky lovely colours. We did wonder whether it would be strange that the cottage was fitted for a wheelchair user (we are not disabled) but it didn't make any difference whatsoever. We asked the owner about recommendations for local pubs for dinner on the Saturday night and they were really helpful with giving us a list of places and directions - we went to The Bear Hotel in the village and had a wonderful steak, well worth a visit there as part of your stay. Overall an idyllic stay in an idyllic setting and would certainly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Feb 2017
Thank you, Jonathan, for your very complimentary review. So glad you both enjoyed our lovely countryside too - you were certainly lucky with the weather that weekend. Hope we will see you again sometime for a return visit.
Kind regards, Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie D
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A hidden gem in a lovely County”
Reviewed 18 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We thought that the Cheeseroom Cottage was very well appointed. Very comfortable friendly owner and would have no hesitation in recommending this beautiful cottage for a very restful stay within reach of all that Shropshire has to offer. We would recommend this cottage to anyone

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The appointment of the cottage was of very high order
Liked least: A coffee table in the lounge would have been handy.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2016
Thank you for your very kind comments. It was lovely to meet you both and I'm glad you enjoyed visiting all the lovely places around here. You are welcome again at any time.
Kindest regards, Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing