We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolute fantastic”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Rose Cottage

The Driveway from the Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Driveway from the Cottage
Welcome to Rose Cottage! The Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
The Driveway from the Cottage
Welcome to Rose Cottage!
The Cottage
Fully fitted kitchen with built-in fridge freezer and washer/drier
The cosy lounge with TV/Freeview/DVD + selection of films and Board games..
Lounge with view to woodland
Lounge with dining area featuring extendable table and frech doors to outside Bistro set
Double bedroom number 1
Double bedroom number 2
Power shower and WC featuring soft close lid!!
Arch leading to gardens, Golf, Badminton areas..
Part of the Cottage Gardens
Cottage garden BBQ Seating Area with Badminton , Croquet, and Boules for sole use of cottage guests
Cottage Garden Golf Green and Golf Driving Practice Net!
View from the side of the cottage showing driveway and parking area
Snack time for the Duck and ducklings in the Cottage Garden!
Bridge Inn Pub - 5 minute riverside walk from the cottage! Real Ales and home cooked food...
The Village Post Office/General Store, and Countess Tea Rooms
The Village Green with Wortley Mens Club to the right
Wortley Arms Pub and Montagu's Restaurant
Wortley Golf Course
Wortley Tennis court - 3 minutes drive , 15 min's Cycle ride!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Sheffield, South Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
HelmutTod...
Berlin, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolute fantastic”
Reviewed 6 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

First of all - Jill and Graham are the best hosts ever. Friendly and helpful where needed. But you don´t need help because everything was perfect (even the weather:))
A really very nice and quite cottage next to Sheffiled at the boundarys of the lovely Peak District. The cottage is cosy, beautiful furnished and equipped with everything you wish and need. Inn/pub is within walking distance, large supermarket is within ten minutes by car in Penistone. Great walks can be started directly from the cottage. Don´t forget to visit Castlelton and Hope next to MamTor. Even Manchester, York or Fountains Abbey are only about one hour away (by car).
Is there anything Jill and Graham could do better? No, it´s already perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn J
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful place to stay in peaceful surroundings”
Reviewed 27 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Graham and Gill were very helpful, friendly and lovely people. The cottage was perfect just beautiful inside and outside. The gardens were very well maintained to a high standard. We really felt at home whilst staying there. My daughter is 11 years old and she has said she wants to return again next year. The ducks met us at the door each morning. It was exactly how the pictures show it to be.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful gardens
Liked least: I liked everything about it
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kgallaghe...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“An oasis of calm!”
Reviewed 5 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

You will not find a cleaner, more comfy, idyllic cottage in Sheffield. It is the most peaceful and welcoming cottage. Jill & Graham were the most fabulous hosts and did everything to make our stay special, they went out of their way to be in to receive a urgent parcel before we were due to arrive and were on hand with a screwdriver when we needed it!
It was really like visiting family, they were friendly and approachable and gave us places to visit, go to Bramfield which is nearby a d has the most amazing views!
We would recommend this cottage to anyone who wants to explore South Yorkshire and indeed those that would use it as a base to tour the North!
Lots of lovely garden and wildlife to explore too!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: The fact we were only there for 5 days, we needed longer
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel P
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“A Wonderful Countryside Experience”
Reviewed 19 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

My daughter and I spend a wonderful week here this September. The cottage is very clean and comfortable with everything you might need. It is located close to the city of Sheffield and the Derbyshire countryside which we wanted to visit in our vacation. I don't think I will ever stay in Hotels again after this great experience.

Nigel, Los Angeles.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cottage & Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndyPeat
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Idyllic living.”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Hidden away in an rural and historical part of the area which birthed the Industrial revolution in Britain, this delightful little cottage has everything one could need.
Helpful owners and lots of greenery and wildlife.
We came away with our batteries charged and smiles on all our faces.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing