We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (309)
Filter reviews
309 results
Traveller rating
183
82
32
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
183
82
32
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews staindrop lodge spa bath birthday party function room course meal pie lovely hotel following morning member of staff comfortable rooms saturday night full english breakfast night stay nice room cooked breakfast rachel venue
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 309 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2018 via mobile

Absolutely excellent from start to finish, the entire experience was faultless, and every member of staff went out of there way to make our special day perfect. A special thankyou to Rachel, the wedding coordinator, who tirelessly double checked every detail several times over, and made everything run like clockwork. I would highly recommended Staindrop for your special day as it is perfect, from our rooms to the food, to the staff. Great job guys.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018 via mobile

Thought we would give this place a try as we had been told it had been taken over by Quality Inns.
The welcome was friendly and we were shown to a table where we ordered and enjoyed very good food. The cod was cooked well and the chips were amazing. The service was excellent so we will definitely be back.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Millymolly77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018

The,Staindrop is now called Quality Hotel-but it is both. (Had called three times to confirm booking numbers-but found it cancelled on arrival-perhaps this due to change of owners?. A worry, but Receptionist quickly put things right). Otherwise an enjoyable stay. Lovely staff. Clean, nice room & food. Attention to detail. Suitable for families or business. (Sat nav directed us to opposite side of road-look out fir sugn).

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank resters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

Over the years we have used Staindrop Lodge for lots of meals, our son’s christening and we also get married there 4 years ago. We had issues on our wedding day and myself and my husband and sister and her husband were both given complimentary champagne stay over’s as a chance for them to restore our faith in the company. We admittedly didn’t use the vouchers for 4 years but they did not have an expiry date on them.

After the recent take over by Choice Hotels and rebranding to Quality Hotel North we phoned to check we could still use the vouchers and we were told that we could. We were both booked in to the two executive rooms with working spa baths. On arrival we were given rooms 9 and 6. Room 6 had no spa bath or towels and both rooms had no champagne on arrival as advertised. Room 9 carpet was filthy. We went to reception and asked for towels and also asked at what point did we receive our champagne. We were told they had forgot to ask and we could either have it now or with our meal. We chose to have it with our meal because we’d already purchased a bottle of wine.

Our evening meal in the brassiere was lovely. The champagne was a very cheap brand and not particularly nice. We noticed a couple sat behind us walked out after they had been served their meals without eating it. After a lovely meal we returned to our rooms for the night. During the early hours of the morning the occupants of room 7 were shouting outside the rooms in the corridor but then the proceeded to try and open both the interconnecting doors between rooms 6 and 7. This startled my sister and brother in law and they continued this for a while. After this they were unable to settle to sleep well. At 6.45am the occupiers of room 7 again we’re trying to open the interconnecting door to my sisters room. When we went to breakfast we reported this to reception and she fetched Amy the hotel manager. Amy said there were two doors between interconnecting rooms and they would never have opened both. She also said because it had not been reported to the night porter there was nothing she could do. Amy’s attitude was appalling saying that our vouchers had an expiry date of a year (both vouchers had no expiry date on them) and they didn’t have to honour them but said they would out of good will. I said was obvious that she was not bothered about what had happened because our stay was complimentary, even though this was a chance for them change our opinion after so many mistakes at our wedding. All Amy had to do is say she’d investigate what had happened and speak to the occupants of room 7 and come back to us. Our children joined us for breakfast and when we enquired about the cost we were told these were complimentary too. We didn’t ask for anything free we wanted the issues sorting out and to be spoke to better than Amy spoke to us. When the toast arrived towards the end of our breakfast we found that numerous slices were mouldy. They did offer to replace it but we declined and those of us who hadn’t finished our breakfast were completely put off and stopped eating.

It is obvious that the hotel is in difficulty and had to sell out to a cheap chain. They are running the hotel, bar and brassiere on a shoe string. The hotel is getting in a bad state of repair and they obviously can’t afford to make the repairs, especially to the broken spa baths. They are running on minimum staff and it was the same staff serving breakfast who were working the previous evening till late. The staff, especially Amy the manager need urgent customer care training on how to deal with complaints.

Our faith in the hotel has not been restored, it has only pointed out how bad the hotel and brassiere have become. If this is how all customers are treated there is no wonder the hotel is struggling. We definitely will never return again to either the hotel or brassiere.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank LyndseyC78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy561, General Manager at Quality Hotel Sheffield North, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

I am appalled you were served the toast. Our chef is currently in contact with the bakery as all our bread was delivered fresh for the weekend on Saturday morning so we will be taking this up with them, however this should have been spotted & not served by the staff yesterday morning & this also will be dealt with.
The hotel has not had a take over since October, our current Director has simply branded the hotel to a 'Choice Hotel'.
As mentioned at check out, had you informed staff on the night of your stay about the problems you had in the hotel room, it would have been sorted immediately by the Night Porter, it is very hard for us to investigate a problem unless it is on going at the time.
More over, this stay was completely free of charge; dinner, bed & breakfast and a bottle of champagne as a complimentary stay due to a previous disappointment from four years ago. It would appear that this stay was also unsatisfactory, I offer my profuse apologies, we are unable to offer a reduction or refund to a complimentary stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018 via mobile

Anniversary meal out for me and the hubby. Really lovely food at a great price. Nice atmosphere. The service was excellent. I would definitely go back again. Can't comment on the hotel it's self as we only went for the meal

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank pjdalby6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews