We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (659)
Filter reviews
659 results
Traveller rating
300
210
91
29
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
300
210
91
29
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdog trackarmy barracksmorrisons supermarketowlerton stadiumcity centrelovely hotelpetrol stationcooked breakfastbreakfast roomfull englishwedding receptionpleasant stayrooms are spaciousbusy roadwould stay againbeansgood size
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 659 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2018

Love this hotel,use it a lot usually for work.
Cosy chalet style rooms which are always clean, comfortable, well presented and well equipped.
Free parking.
Lovely surroundings which are quiet. There is a restaurant attached but it is also close to Morrisons, McDonalds, KFC and Pizza Hut, so plenty of choice.
Always great value for a pleasant stay.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Workeeticket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarrisonManagement, General Manager at The Garrison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind thoughts and reflections following your most recent stay, we appreciate your noted regarding the style and layout of our bedrooms, the presentation, cleanliness and surroundings also convenient.

Thank you for your recommendations, we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

Most enjoyable clean tidy rooms beautifull location and great brekkie would recommend this for a stay over booking in and out was very pleasant and staff were very good price of the room I would say is average to what you have to pay for comfort

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank wickersleydiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarrisonManagement, General Manager at The Garrison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely reflections following your stay at the Garrison, we are delighted you found the breakfast and the surroundings very pleasant, with good value overall.

We look forward to welcoming you back again and thank you for your recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

The hotel was very accommodating as a disabled traveler they found me an easy access room. Its quirky with some steep steps to bars but good handrails made it easy.
Nice selection of beers and a good breakfast made for a successful stay.

Room Tip: Ask the reception if you have special requirements
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank peter h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarrisonManagement, General Manager at The Garrison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind reflections following your experience here at the Garrison, we are pleased to have offered you an access room and that you enjoyed good comfort during the hot weather.

Thank you for your notes regarding the drinks selection and the breakfast, we are happy you have enjoyed a successful stay and look forward to welcoming you again on a return visit to Sheffield.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018

We went to a murder mystery night for my friends 30th birthday here. I must say, I didn't really know what to expect as I've been to a couple of these kind of things before and found them to usually be quite chaotic, unorganised and badly acted. When you pay £40+ for something like that, it can leave a bitter taste if you come away disappointed.

However, this has to be one of the best I've been to, and myself and the rest of the party really enjoyed it and had a great laugh.

It cost around £35 and that included a 3 course meal. We read that we needed to dress in 50s style detective suits and dresses. I'm not normally one for fancy dress, but it has to be said that when we got there, everyone looked fantastic and it really added to the story seeing every other guest dressed to match the theme.

The food was really nice. Starter was mushrooms in a creamy garlic sauce, followed by Roast beef and yorkshire pud with seasoned veg and a cheesecake for desert. Portions were big and filling and we also got a drink included.

The murder mystery followed a story which was acted out in front of us between courses. We then had to walk around the room and find clues before returning to our table to discuss them. The characters came and interacted with the diners and offered clues to certain people, which could be traded for clues with other diners. You could also bluff each other to try and throw your rival parties off-course. The story never interfered with us being able to eat our dinner, so in that respect, it was well timed and organised.

The actors juxtaposed between straight-faced and comedic performances. Straight enough for people to take the game seriously, but cracking the odd joke throughout so it wasn't too intense.

Overall, it was a really fun evening and my friend thoroughly enjoyed turning the big 3.0!
Would definitely recommend one of their nights if anyone is looking to do something a bit different that doesn't cost the earth.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MattE2137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarrisonManagement, General Manager at The Garrison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your well written feedback following your experience on one of our popular event nights, we are highly delighted to hear of your evenings success, it is very good your party really engaged with the decades theme of the event, we always encourage this of our guests as it can really highlight the experience.

Thank you for your kind notes regarding the food quality, it is always more challenging to maintain good quality when preparing banqueting style service.

Thank you again, we shall pass on your feedback to our team, thank you for your kind recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

We were looking forward to visiting the hotel and thought that the bedrooms would be in keeping with the hotel. Bedrooms let it down, very clean but basic. The main hotel is lovely but the rooms let it down. It could be so beautiful if they were upgraded

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms Look into dirty laundry
Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank spmck2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarrisonManagement, General Manager at The Garrison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your constructive feedback, we are currently running an upgrade programme throughout our bedrooms at the hotel, we understand you must have experienced a bedroom that has not yet received a little more TLC and would recommend revisiting again to perhaps give us another opportunity if you would have such consideration.

We understand you believe you deserve better for value and that the room did not fit the grandeur of the building, we endeavor to improve.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews