We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good service and good value”

Pitcher & Piano - Reading
Ranked #115 of 683 Restaurants in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$17
Cuisines: British, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 13 September 2018

6 of us came for a works lunch today and weren't disappointed.
The menu is fairly entensive, including several vegetarian choices.
Food was served within 15-20 minutes and everyone seemed to enjoy it. Service was friendly and attentive.
Drinks were reasonably priced for Reading - around a fiver for a pint of premium lager.
Big, bright and roomy venue.
Overall a very satisfactory experience and would happily dine here again (but where was the piano?).

Thank Cartimand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 227 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2018 via mobile

Ordered two drinks and some snacks from the barman, received one then he decided to serve his ‘friends’ before serving the next drink.
Then continued on his mobile phone before thinking about serving the snacks.
Give this place a wide birth!

Thank DarenWebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018

we had a really nice lunch,to celebrate my birthday, here last Friday.
The service we received from Jamie,was second to none,well done.
The food was very well cooked,and plenty of it.
Lot's of larger beers to chose from too.

Looking forward to a return visit soon.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rob_dumville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesLetherbarrow1, General Manager at Pitcher & Piano - Reading, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2018

Good afternoon Rob.

Thank you very much for your feedback. We're glad you enjoyed your visit with us at Pitcher & Piano. I shall pass your praises on to Jamie, he will be thrilled with the compliment. Just to give you a heads up, we're changing a few beers and ciders over, we all love variety.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2018

Always enjoy dropping in for a beer.
I think this bar has a great atmosphere and the staff are always friendly. The location is also great in the town center. I would say one of the best bars in Reading and definitely worth a visit.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesLetherbarrow1, General Manager at Pitcher & Piano - Reading, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

Thanks John!

Such a wonderful review- see you soon I hope!

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018

Had a good lunch there today - group of seven friends. Food and drinks all good quality and served politely and promptly. Unfortunately both the coffee machine and the real ale pumps weren't working, but I can't blame mechanical failures on the staff, who were as helpful as possible.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesLetherbarrow1, General Manager at Pitcher & Piano - Reading, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Thank you so much for your kind words! As it happened both the coffee machine and the ales were back up to working order shortly after you left- you will have to come again to try them both!

Kind regards

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pitcher & Piano - Reading also viewed

 
 
Reading, Berkshire
 

Been to Pitcher & Piano - Reading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing