We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place for a walk”

Silchester Roman City Walls and Amphitheatre
Ranked #5 of 65 things to do in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 9 August 2018

We came here as my eldest daughter had been studying the Romans as a topic at school. I remember too coming here as a child. The whole family had a very enjoyable walk around the old city on a lovely warm afternoon

Date of experience: October 2017
1  Thank chelle6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"car park"
in 28 reviews
"circular walk"
in 9 reviews
"reading university"
in 15 reviews
"information boards"
in 14 reviews
"lovely place for a walk"
in 5 reviews
"local church"
in 5 reviews
"century church"
in 4 reviews
"english heritage website"
in 4 reviews
"audio tour"
in 4 reviews
"enjoyable walk"
in 5 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 19 reviews
"pretty church"
in 3 reviews
"above ground"
in 3 reviews
"old church"
in 4 reviews
"sunday afternoon"
in 5 reviews
"excavation"
in 23 reviews
"ruins"
in 25 reviews
Filter

10 - 14 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2018 via mobile

Silvester offers lovely walks around the ancient city walls. The site itself covers over 100 acres. In the summer you may come across excavations by Reading University. This year there is a huge excavation of the Roman baths. We were given a guided tour by one of Reading's students. It was fascinating. There's lots to explore and some great pubs near by to stop for a lunch. Highly recommended.

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank pjthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2018 via mobile

Great walk around the impressive roman fortification. Loved it all but I think I enjoyed the amphitheatre the best.
Would strongly recommended

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank r0mantraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2018

This site is one of very few at which there was a Roman settlement which has not been built on. After the town was abandoned in the 5th century the site has been farmland so the archelology is very well preserved.
A walk around the walls and a visit to the Ampetheatre is recommended. Do visit the medieval church too.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank IanTravller M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2018

Really enjoyed the walk here with my girlfriend. Very good for a free/cheap day out in the british summer.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank cars335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Silchester Roman City Walls and Amphitheatre also viewed

 

Been to Silchester Roman City Walls and Amphitheatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing