We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Silchester Roman City Walls and Amphitheatre
Save
Review Highlights
Ancient history

A good walk around the defensive walls of the old Roman town. Still a very impressive site. It's... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
ReadingTrips
,
Reading, United Kingdom
via mobile
Not a lot left

We wanted to point out this is a hard walk. I am disabled and just couldn't tackle the walk needed... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
A3303XQpaulh
,
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 289 reviews
  
Reviews (289)
Filter reviews
289 results
Traveller rating
137
121
26
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
137
121
26
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews car park reading university circular walk information boards lovely place for a walk century church english heritage website audio tour enjoyable walk worth a visit pretty church above ground old church sunday afternoon great place to visit excavation ruins
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 289 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2018 via mobile

The Silchester Roman Walls are an absolute archaeological gem! You can walk for an age on the 4metre high remains of the original Roman fortifications that surrounded the ancient town. As a historical fiction writer (Sons of Iberia), places like this help me to gain a flavour for the lives of my characters. Defos worth a visit if you like history & or walking.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank jglennbauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2018

Some of the best preserved Roman defensive walls to be seen in England. Well worth a visit and a lovely walk around the perimeter

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2018 via mobile

My favourite place to go walking. The walls are remarkably well preserved and you have terrific access to them. Only a short stroll, but if you enjoy a bit of history it is the perfect place.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

Sorry No toilets to be seen, No Shop either, But the signs at the car park were enough to help us get around and see and imagine the past of the roman town that once was. Not a great place if you have dogs. as it is still an active farm with livestock. We arrived int he morning and was greeted with Wildlife starting the day.

Date of experience: October 2017
2  Thank Ducknzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

We had a lovely afternoon walk, mainly on the flat, not without some slippy mud in places. The church was fantastic and the site was superbly laid out with great information. Views were pretty good for a winter's day and the whole site was well maintained if you like Alpacas you will love the place too.

Date of experience: February 2018
1  Thank Alan108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews