We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great evening with the football! ”
Review of The Rose & Thistle

The Rose & Thistle
Ranked #86 of 687 Restaurants in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
Description: A friendly community pub, with sky sports tv, great value food, and great value drinks, we hold a weekly quiz night on Thursdays, and also provide a bus service for every Reading FC saturday home match
Restaurant details
Description: A friendly community pub, with sky sports tv, great value food, and great value drinks, we hold a weekly quiz night on Thursdays, and also provide a bus service for every Reading FC saturday home match
Reviewed 14 August 2018 via mobile

Dropped in to watch the football....amasing atmosphere, hot tasty food, and great prices for lager! Happy staff, looked like they were really enjoying the night.

Booked for Sunday already!!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Blackstock11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmajayne29, General Manager at The Rose & Thistle, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2018

Hi blackstock11

Thank you for your comments!

We look forward to seeing you soon!

Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2018 via mobile

Food was good and staff friendly and helpful we will go there again soon when we are down that way we would recommend going there.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank johndazpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmajayne29, General Manager at The Rose & Thistle, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2018

Hi Johndazpaul

Thank you for taking the time to write such lovely comments.

We hope when you're down this way soon, you'll pay us a visit!

Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018 via mobile

I stopped for lunch while in the area on business, the food was very good and came out in good time, all the staff were very friendly, I would recommend this place to anyone and wouldn't hesitate to visit again

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmajayne29, General Manager at The Rose & Thistle, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2018

Hi Mike B

Thank you for taking the time to write such lovely comments, we hope you come visit again soon, when you're in the area!

Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018 via mobile

Visited yesterday for a meal with my family service excellent atmosphere fantastic food amazing had the chicken tikka it was beautiful I would highly recommend going to this pub

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmajayne29, General Manager at The Rose & Thistle, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2018

Hi Liz H

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we love seeing comments like this, and I can agree the chicken tikka is amazing!

We hope to see you again soon!

Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018

We ordered 2 dishes and a rice, one dish arrived completely different to what we had ordered, the staff member said they didn’t have what was required to make the dish we ordered, that’s ok but I think we should of been told that when we placed the order.
We were dissapointed with the cleanliness, the toilet floors, corners and skirting were all very dirty. Dining room.....cobwebs behind the curtains, dust on plug sockets and under all tables, table and chair legs dirty. The white door between the bar and toilets is filthy.
We have since ordered a home delivery, brilliant service it arrived dead in the 20minutes quoted, all dishes correct, plenty for the money, well done takeaway is the way to go.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Cavershamwildlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmajayne29, General Manager at The Rose & Thistle, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Hi cavershamwildlife

Thank you for taking the time to send your feedback, I can only apologise for your visit, we pride ourselves in ensuring our guest have a great time when they visit and we take all comments very seriously, especially when someone finds us to be below par. I would love to speak with you about this, if you have the time available today to give me a call on 01189573851.

Kid regards
Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Rose & Thistle also viewed

Reading, Berkshire
Reading, Berkshire
 
Reading, Berkshire
 

Been to The Rose & Thistle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing