We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
An unexpected find

This is a proper old boozer in the heart of Reading. Excellent range of ales and ciders on offer... read more

Reviewed 26 October 2018
nnmercman
,
Camberley, United Kingdom
Worth a visit.

Really good quality real ales in the quirky pub. Interesting choice of drinks and well worth a... read more

Reviewed 21 October 2018
Brian M
,
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Read all 30 reviews
  
Reviews (30)
Filter reviews
30 results
Traveller rating
18
9
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
9
1
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews real ale quirky layout selection of beers quirky pub beer mats old skool past few years on tap boozer camra ales pint
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 30 reviews
Reviewed 13 December 2017

Proper boozer, quirky regulars, I had great conversation about a number of things...Beer is Great, lot of Micro Brewery Stuff...ancient décor and graffiti etched in to wooden seats and stalls...toilet as you would expect...but actually not smelly. This is a Pub you are either going to love or hate and you will have to make the effort with the Locals...mind you Reading is a bit like that anyhow!!

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2017

I like real pubs without musice etc but that this place just did not do it for me. It was late lunchtime and there was no atmosphere, people looked surly and unfriendly. Toilets were awful

Date of experience: February 2017
1  Thank malcthetalc55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

Popped in on Fri night for a goblet - great beer choice and a few ciders - quirky proper old style pub - no frills just great beer - pretty good atmosphere with decent staff - no mobile phone rule which is a good call - well worth a visit - I'll tell you what can't remember what beer I had but could tucked in for the evening no problem!

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank Hame01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

I am here trying a dark beer with Spanish friends and a lot English old men. This is a very old place the oldest at Reading. The atmosphere is nice and the theme amazing.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank ignaciof723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

From J Boy of Derby

A very good pub right in the centre of Reading with an excellent
selection of real ales, my favourite is the West Berks Good Old Boy.
A proper pub with helpful and knowledgeable staff who know the different ales on display.
The ceiling and walls are covered in beer mats,and there are plenty of little alcoves where you can have a quiet drink away from the main bar.
Toilets in the yard are a little old fashioned,but in keeping with the general pub.
I remember the days when this pub was called the Hobgoblin the name's changed but thankfully the pub hasn't
Please remember mobile phones are not allowed to be used in the pub.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews