We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for me”
Review of The Alehouse

The Alehouse
Ranked #6 of 48 Nightlife in Reading
Attraction details
Reviewed 8 March 2017

I like real pubs without musice etc but that this place just did not do it for me. It was late lunchtime and there was no atmosphere, people looked surly and unfriendly. Toilets were awful

Date of experience: February 2017
1  Thank malcthetalc55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"real ale"
in 7 reviews
"quirky layout"
in 4 reviews
"selection of beers"
in 2 reviews
"quirky pub"
in 2 reviews
"beer mats"
in 2 reviews
"old skool"
in 2 reviews
"past few years"
in 2 reviews
"on tap"
in 2 reviews
"boozer"
in 3 reviews
"camra"
in 4 reviews
"ales"
in 7 reviews
"pint"
in 4 reviews
Filter

10 - 14 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

Popped in on Fri night for a goblet - great beer choice and a few ciders - quirky proper old style pub - no frills just great beer - pretty good atmosphere with decent staff - no mobile phone rule which is a good call - well worth a visit - I'll tell you what can't remember what beer I had but could tucked in for the evening no problem!

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank Hame01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

I am here trying a dark beer with Spanish friends and a lot English old men. This is a very old place the oldest at Reading. The atmosphere is nice and the theme amazing.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank ignaciof723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

From J Boy of Derby

A very good pub right in the centre of Reading with an excellent
selection of real ales, my favourite is the West Berks Good Old Boy.
A proper pub with helpful and knowledgeable staff who know the different ales on display.
The ceiling and walls are covered in beer mats,and there are plenty of little alcoves where you can have a quiet drink away from the main bar.
Toilets in the yard are a little old fashioned,but in keeping with the general pub.
I remember the days when this pub was called the Hobgoblin the name's changed but thankfully the pub hasn't
Please remember mobile phones are not allowed to be used in the pub.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2016 via mobile

One of the best alehouse in Reading but the UK. The staff are friendly and make your visit personal. With church like pews, standing areas, seating both inside and out it's a pleasure to enter. The selection of ales changes on a weekly basis and trust me You are spoilt for choice.
Great pub, great atmosphere and above all great beer!

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Alehouse also viewed

Reading, Berkshire
Reading, Berkshire
 
 

Been to The Alehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing