We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lakeside Guest House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Newton House(Oxford)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (234)
Filter reviews
234 results
Traveller rating
128
68
23
5
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
128
68
23
5
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bcity centrethe bed was super comfortablebreakfast roomfront of the housefull englishdouble ensuite roomfresh fruitbreakfast was excellentminute walkcar parktop floorlovely citytea and coffee making facilitiesfirst floorchrist churchmain road
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 234 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2018 via mobile

We stayed in one of the 2 new rooms created at the rear. We were in for a real treat great thought had been put into the design and fittings. A lovely peaceful stay at this first class guest house. Thank you.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Minste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela S, Owner at Lakeside Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Thank you for staying with us,so gald we enjoed it.
KInd Regards Daniela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for one night whilst playing/coaching Ice hockey in Oxford.
Hotel is easy to find and is just 5 minutes from the A34. Plenty of parking at the hotel.
Staff were all friendly and attentive. Room was a single and had plenty of space.
Tea and coffee making facilities in room plus bottled water. Bed was very comfortable and room was just the right temperature.
Hotel is 3 minute drive from the Westgate shopping centre and the universities.
Breakfast was £8 and was very very good and all freshly prepared
Will definitely be back next time I'm in Oxford.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
Thank Ian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela S, Owner at Lakeside Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Thank you for staying with us, and look forward to seeing to again.
Kind Regards Daniela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2018

We stayed in this guest house for one night, in room 10. It was a room to the side of the house, with it's own separate front door. It had it's on en-suite bathroom. The room seemed brand new, as if it had been freshly decorated, with stylish touches. The bed was very soft & cosy and I was impressed with the fancy lotions & shower gels in the bathroom. There was also a hairdryer, cotton wool & buds available. The room had it's own mini bar (a couple of bottles of soft drinks) and a fridge/kettle.

I loved the room and felt very relaxed and comfortable. There was a variety of breakfast options in the morning.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank N B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela S, Owner at Lakeside Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2018

Thank you for staying with us, I am so glad you enjoed the new room.
Look forward to seeing you again.
Regards Daniela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2018 via mobile

Stayed here early February, the guest house appeared full or close to full and we did manage to get a parking space, however parking is limited, as the house is close to town, we left the car where it was for the duration of our stay. If walking is an issue there are frequent busses driving past with bus stops and regular intervals

The owner was friendly and very helpful, and the room was clean and fresh, light and airy, thankfully the owner has installed blackout shutters, this was a big positive for me, I slept really well, the TV had the regular freeview channels all worked fine.

Drinks etc were available, from the mini bar down stairs, there was a kettle for teas and coffees etc in your room with fresh drinking water.

We had the full English breakfast in the morning , if you hadn't booked breakfast with your stay, it was still available to you, only you pay for the breakfast separately... I was looking forward to breakfast as I had read good reviews, it didn't disappoint, very tasty, just how I like it.

Would definitely recommend to others coming to stay in Oxford

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Anthony E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela S, Owner at Lakeside Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2018

Thank you for staying with us and for your kind comments, we look forward to seeing you again.
Kind Regards Daniela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018

Our stay during my daughter's interviews was absolutely fabulous! The rooms were very clean and comfortable, and the breakfast was phenomenal. It was particularly nice to be able to have a vegetarian option. The hosts were very welcoming and helped us with any queries we had. We look forward to coming again in September for the drop-off!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Iman F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela S, Owner at Lakeside Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

Thank you for a lovely review we look forward to seeing you again, Kind regards Daniela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews