We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (170)
Filter reviews
170 results
Traveller rating
7
15
43
22
83
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7
15
43
22
83
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jacuzzi tub george st tv reception bars and restaurants no lift blenheim palace
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 170 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2018 via mobile

Euro Bar is definitely one of the worst hotels I've ever been to.

The positive aspects:
The hotel is centrally located and provides free WiFi, clean sheets and towels - that's all.

The negative aspects:
The hotel is scruffy, dirty, moldy and in terrible condition, which the dominant and sickening scent of cheap room fragrance cannot conceal. Our first en suite had a disgustingly moldy bathroom. Having refused to check into this room, we were moved to a slightly cleaner room above the disco/bar. The very loud music from below causes a disturbing shaking of the walls, the floor and the bed, making it hard to rest - even with earplugs. There are no glasses in the room and the hand shower keeps falling out of its worn out mounting despite low water pressure. There is no toilet roll holder and the toilet is always somewhat open as the lid and seat are too small for the bowl. The carpeting is filthy and so are the curtains. Boxes and bags of stuff and used towels clutter the hallways. Windows won't stay open without an improvised wedge. Half of the lamps don't work because of missing or broken bulbs. The wardrobe doesn't have any shelves (not even a top!) and won't close. There's no housekeeping during the stay, so consumables supplied by the hotel are not replaced.

Considering these adverse conditions: Thank God they don't serve breakfast!

To summarize:
The room rates are totally unjustified and there is no value for money whatsoever - this hotel is a disappointment in every way.

Last but not least: Travellers arriving by car should be aware that there is no parking or unloading area in front of the hotel. The nearby parking lot charges are £ 28 for 24 hours.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Global_JMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

Arrived in Oxford after a long journey to see "Eurobar" across the street having booked on line. The state of the building says it all. Dingy curtains tied in knots. Decided to "risk it" by walking into the black hole of the "bar" with rubbish piled by the door. Basically it looks like a "doss house"!
Immediately walked out and went to a chain hotel outside the city centre. A £12 cab ride for a clean and well run hotel.
I didn't even know that this kind of dump still existed.
Sure "it's central" .....but it's also dirty, horrible and nasty!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Adrian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

One of our rooms was on top floor up several flights of stairs. No cups, spoons, or glasses and none appeared even though we asked the Barman to provide them. Mould in shower, No light by bed. Other room lower down and large. Bathrom new but no towel rail or toilet roll holder, and waterfall tap drenched me and the floor. Only two of the five lights worked as they did not have any bulbs in them. Nice TV and comfortable bed. The whole place grubby and bit smelly and very rundown. No staff on duty at all. Was cheap though compared to other Oxford hotels and central for New Theatre and colleges, but definitely wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JeanWolverhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2018

This place has to be the worst "hotel" in England.
Disfunctional staff, rooms are worse than dated 1950's with more faults than Fawlty Towers. Management complacent and ignorant to say the least. No hot water, no electrics working other than light, Fire alarm hanging two feet below ceiling. Shared toilet with unusable shower. This place should really be closed down.

Room Tip: Best steer clear of this place.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Arrachogaidh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2018 via mobile

Me and wife stayed here while visiting our daughter at Oxford who is studying abroad, we didnt have what we thought a choice due to graduation and all others we checked was already booked, we chose Eurobar because it was close to her. We got there and before going into the room we wasn't impressed and after getting in the room we wasn't impressed, it was nasty and not cleaned the whole time we was there (4 days) and was told if we need anythingto call the desk That's hard to do when the phone was not even hooked up, along the way we both started having sinus issues at first thought it was climate differences from USA but no we found mold in the room and restroom, we dealt with while there ran into another guest on 2nd floor same problems but I hope this will help someone to not stay at the Eurobar Hotel it doesn't deserve to be listed on Tripadviser

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ebrepairman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews