We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

The White Hart of Wytham
Reserve a table
2
Sun, 10/17
20:00
Ranked #158 of 670 Restaurants in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$21
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Under new management from January 19th 2015. You are very welcome to the new White Hart Country Inn, based in the beautiful village of Wytham, just West of Oxford.We hope you enjoy your visit to our new website, where you can find out more about the history of the White Hart and the beautiful village of Wytham, browse our menu, or even join our team of dedicated and professional staff!Please feel free to contact us to book your table at the White Hart or to feedback if you have dined with us before, we always love to hear your comments and suggestions and look forward to seeing you soon!
Reviewed 10 September 2021 via mobile

Mediocre food and we were disappointed for a pub that claims it is a gastropub. The atmosphere is quirky and I can understand what they are trying to achieve with a rustic barn like layout, but dead plants and weeds is not great first impressions . The table was sticky like a nightclub floor which put us off straight away. The menu sounded very interesting and appealing - unfortunately what was written did not match the food on our plate. Thai salmon starter - which looked nice was heavily over-salted with fish sauce, Beetroot burrata was very nicely presented and quite tasty but needed more seasoning and dukka flavour.
Mains - Harrisa chicken served with chips was a very generous half chicken and was beautifully moist but had no Harissa flavour whatsoever. It was served with a corn salad which tasted like it was from a tin and had no flavour and the whole combination could have been served at a road side eatery. It was for my partners birthday and we were really looking forward to our evening. Very expensive for what it is. Definitely won’t be going again.

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank Excursion535325
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (458)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 458 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2021

I've been visitng this place on an occaisional basis for 15 years and love it. Getting to the White Hart requires you drive past several other welcoming pubs and the fact that, despite this, it was busy when we visitied on a mid-week evening speaks volumes.

On Wednesday this week I dropped in on spec to find a Jazz evening being hosted in their ancient, walled courtyard. The atmosphere was fantastic, the music excellent and the food being served at the Courtyard tables looked great (on this occaision we didn't eat but based on really good past experiences we were sorely tempted)

As part of their COVID precautions all the outside tables have plastic enclosures and due to the nature of their walled courtyard the pub have been able to put a huge clear "roof" up giving a really good inside feel to an outside area.

Go back? Absolutely, Recommend to friends? Without hesitating

Date of visit: September 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank simonl835
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 August 2021

We've eaten here several times including holding our wedding reception here in 2016. Everyone agreed it was a brilliant venue - delicious food, excellent service from the lovely staff, and really lovely cosy decor throughout. They always have interesting food on offer and great vegetarian options. Looking forward to going back again as soon as we're back in that part of the country.

Date of visit: September 2020
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank vpA7104UM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 August 2021

Three courses of exquisite flavours served by cheery and courteous staff, plus fine local ales.

Unless you're a regular fine diner you might need to Google some of the items on the menu (Dukkah / Barigoule /Kecap Manis / Vadouvan spiced etc.!) but whatever the ingredients are it amounts to a memorably flavoursome and delicious meal.

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank snjox
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 August 2021 via mobile

Always a treat but hadn’t been for a few years and certainly want disappointed when reacquainting ourselves with this little gem if a pub!
Celebrating my better half’s promotion at work. The burger & the pan roasted rump of lamb with braised shoulder of lamb in filo pastry with feta were both amazing to gaze upon,and the flavours incredible, this was followed by Granny Smith Apple and almond financier & Iced banana parfait and was washed down with an amazing bottle of Bonnet Launois.

Simply put lovely venue amazing food and great staff!

What more do you want? Would thoroughly recommend ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank alanw894
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed The White Hart of Wytham also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The White Hart of Wytham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.