We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best around here for miles”
Review of The Boxing Hare

The Boxing Hare
Price range: US$17 - US$50
Description: THE BOXING HARE, SWERFORD A picturesque stone built Inn and restaurant in the beautiful Cotswolds, with stone built walls, wood beams and a glorious lawned garden for al fresco dining. The Boxing Hare is located a few miles outside Chipping Norton on the Banbury Road. A former Masonic Lodge, it is now a privately owned pub/restaurant serving high quality food with integrity in a relaxed, welcoming environment. We have already established ties with local food producers, Rare breed pork from Paddock Farm, local foraged mushrooms, local game, day boat fish from Looe in Cornwall through New Wave seafood in Fairford and soon Blenheim Palace lamb featuring on the menu. We have our own dry-ageing cabinet in which we are ageing Longhorn Beef for 50 days. Bread is baked daily and will be for sale to our customers. Our ethos is simple, make everything, serve the best, and offer value. The Boxing Hare has a modern rustic charm, where everyone is welcome. Owners: Antony Harris & Stacey
Restaurant details
Description: THE BOXING HARE, SWERFORD A picturesque stone built Inn and restaurant in the beautiful Cotswolds, with stone built walls, wood beams and a glorious lawned garden for al fresco dining. The Boxing Hare is located a few miles outside Chipping Norton on the Banbury Road. A former Masonic Lodge, it is now a privately owned pub/restaurant serving high quality food with integrity in a relaxed, welcoming environment. We have already established ties with local food producers, Rare breed pork from Paddock Farm, local foraged mushrooms, local game, day boat fish from Looe in Cornwall through New Wave seafood in Fairford and soon Blenheim Palace lamb featuring on the menu. We have our own dry-ageing cabinet in which we are ageing Longhorn Beef for 50 days. Bread is baked daily and will be for sale to our customers. Our ethos is simple, make everything, serve the best, and offer value. The Boxing Hare has a modern rustic charm, where everyone is welcome. Owners: Antony Harris & Stacey
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had an amazing lunch with 5 friends.
- Pre-booked as heard it was getting popular - only opened in last few months.
- Excellent choices from al a carte or set lunch menu.
- Lamb delicious - peanut butter parfait sublime.
- Our hostess obviously has dined worldwide, as her knowledge and passion for their food is very evident.
- Menu changes, which keeps everyone on their toes.
- Tiny attention to detail not seen elsewhere - can't wait to return.

Thank Wherenext222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacey E, Public Relations Manager at The Boxing Hare, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your for taking the time to post such a glowing review.
So very pleased you all enjoyed your lunch with us. Customer satisfaction is very important to us.
Your comments are very much appreciated.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Four of us visited for lunch and we all thoroughly enjoyed our food. The menu is varied with something for everyone. We enjoyed fish, bavette, burger and onion flan, all very tasty. Lovely people too. Very busy place so suggest you book. As an aside, if you like gin they have a wide selection of interesting ones.

Thank Cricketfan16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacey E, Public Relations Manager at The Boxing Hare, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Cricketfan16.
Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review.
Delighted you enjoyed a varied selection of the tantalising food. There will always be new dishes for you to try as well as the favourites.
!!
Hope to welcome you again soon.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had the best evening @theboxing_hare The 50 days aged côte de bœuf was to die for as were the scallops and chocolate fondant. Stacey is an brilliant hostess and certainly another reason to go there...thanks Antony & Stacey for making us try the marmalade gin...unbelievably delicious. Worth a stop when in the #costwolds #finedining #swerford #fun #bestfood #eastertreat #britishcountryside #ginandtonic @Swerford, Oxfordshire, United Kingdom

Thank JJAllsop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacey E, Public Relations Manager at The Boxing Hare, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear JJ . It was such a pleasure to host your great table. So much fun and so happy you enjoyed all at The BH.
Hope to welcome you all back soon.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I visited the Boxing Hare last night with five friends, two of which had eaten there before.
The food was excellent, the menu was varied, catered well for vegetarians with a varied choice of dishes to please every palette.
I had a difficult decision choosing a starter, scallops with black pudding, sweetcorn fritters, Iberico ham with Parmesan, Terrine, but settled on Crab Beignets which were light and delicious.
Two friends had Cotswold Gin & Beetroot Cured Sea Trout, cucumber salad, sweet dill & mustard dressing and another had the sweetcorn fritters. All were very happy.
For my main course I shared the 50 Day Dry Aged Beef
30oz Cote de Boeuf with peppercorn sauce and Bearnaise.
The Bearnaise was excellent, the peppercorn sauce was OK.
We asked for it rare and it arrived perfectly cooked along with
fresh crunchy green beans, a tomato salad and 'thrice' cooked chips which were some of the best chips I have ever eaten.
Two others shared a Cote de Boeuf, again perfectly cooked.
Another had rump of lamb which and another chose belly of pork.
I declined dessert but was tempted to order one after tasting the Peanut butter parfait with caramelised banana and honeycomb.
Another ate the sticky toffee pudding.
The only disappointment of the evening was the Affagato, but to be honest there isn't much you can do with an Espresso and a scoop of ice cream, except maybe add a shot of alcohol!
We then had drinks in the bar where we met Stacey and chatted for an hour, initially about the leak in the bar ceiling which hopefully my friend will be fixing for her.
All in all I found the staff to be very friendly, good at their jobs and I found no faults with the service we received.
There was a nice friendly atmosphere to the 'pub'.
I would thoroughly recommend you give it a try, you won't be disappointed.
I will suggest to my sister who lives five minutes down the road that she pays a visit.
Thank you, we had a delightful evening.
As an ex chef I am very hard to please and usually very critical of places I eat out at.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stephen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Well, this will be short and sweet.
Nothing not to like
The people and food were just perfect
If you haven’t been you should definitely pay a visit
I’d recommend booking as it was very busy when we visited
Loved it..... don’t know who the chef is but he needs wrapping in cotton wool..... fantastic

Thank Vicky1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacey E, Public Relations Manager at The Boxing Hare, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Vcky1970
Thanks so much for taking the time to post your review and for all the great photos you took.
!!
Really appreciated.
The Head Chef is Nick Anderson and the wonderful Sous Chef is Kate, Nicks lovely wife.
They are both wrapped in the finest cotton wool❤️
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Boxing Hare also viewed

Chipping Norton, Oxfordshire
Chipping Norton, Oxfordshire
 
Chipping Norton, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Boxing Hare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing