We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always consistently excellent - Lu is a star!”
Review of World Service

World Service
Ranked #62 of 1 411 Restaurants in Nottingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$39 - US$392
Cuisines: French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed 27 June 2018

We lice close to this restaurant and go at least once a month. The food is beautifully presented with great service and help with dietary needs. The fixed price menus are great value but it's worth splashing out on the a la carte. Lu, one of the managers is always helpful, attentive and professional. A real credit. Nottingham has so many great restaurants but World Service is right up there!

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kingpotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (988)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 67 of 988 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2018

Great atmosphere, expert wine advice,excellent food.
The staff helped us to enjoy the evening.
Good variety of food for all tastes.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank charleshawkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

Went for a birthday lunch on a Saturday and was greeted by super friendly staff. Had a glass of bubbles in the lounge and were shown to our table. We ordered off the lunch menu which was full of great choices (even for a veggie) and the food was exceptional! The food arrived quickly and service was swift in removing the (very) empty plates! We had 3 courses which were perfectly portioned and absolutely delicious! The desserts were to die for (and actually huge for lunch time desserts!!)
Totally recommend a visit.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Vicki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

I took girlfriend for her birthday.
Got a drink on arrival. Then it took 20 min to get another. Staff kept walking by looking at empty glass.
Had wine with meal. Kept bottle away from table. So couldn't top self up. I had most of the meal without wine.
I asked about the slow service. They said they was busy.
It was a Saturday. You would expect that. When you spend that sort of money on a meal you would expect a certain service.
The food is what you would expect.
The service is well below par. They need more staff when they know they are busy.
They also put a service charge on. Bit ironic really.
I would have expected that to be taken off twice for the bad slow service.
They wasn't rude. They wasn't nasty. They wasn't hardly here serving.

Date of visit: June 2018
4  Thank Llydcpn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

We were greeted in a very friendly way..........given the choice of the bar or our table and when we decided to go to our table, escorted rather than having it pointed out! The service was extremely attentive but not intrusive, we were advised most helpfully on our wine choice, number of sides to order and when we asked questions about dishes, they were answered knowledgeably. The food was delicious, were a party of seven and chose 6 different dishes from the a la carte menu and everyone was thrilled with their choice. We had one sharing plate of desserts and a cheeseboard between us. Interesting flavours and beautifully presented. We were a mixed age group for a birthday party and everyone left having thoroughly enjoyed their evening - even the bill payer! This is a great, relaxed, fine-dining restaurant with sensible prices and excellent staff. Thanks Jason for the wine choice!

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tracey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed World Service also viewed

Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to World Service? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing