We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch Menu Great Value”
Review of World Service

World Service
Ranked #61 of 1 410 Restaurants in Nottingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$39 - US$392
Cuisines: French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed 19 June 2018

Went for a birthday lunch on a Saturday and was greeted by super friendly staff. Had a glass of bubbles in the lounge and were shown to our table. We ordered off the lunch menu which was full of great choices (even for a veggie) and the food was exceptional! The food arrived quickly and service was swift in removing the (very) empty plates! We had 3 courses which were perfectly portioned and absolutely delicious! The desserts were to die for (and actually huge for lunch time desserts!!)
Totally recommend a visit.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Vicki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (986)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 67 of 986 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

I took girlfriend for her birthday.
Got a drink on arrival. Then it took 20 min to get another. Staff kept walking by looking at empty glass.
Had wine with meal. Kept bottle away from table. So couldn't top self up. I had most of the meal without wine.
I asked about the slow service. They said they was busy.
It was a Saturday. You would expect that. When you spend that sort of money on a meal you would expect a certain service.
The food is what you would expect.
The service is well below par. They need more staff when they know they are busy.
They also put a service charge on. Bit ironic really.
I would have expected that to be taken off twice for the bad slow service.
They wasn't rude. They wasn't nasty. They wasn't hardly here serving.

Date of visit: June 2018
4  Thank Llydcpn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

We were greeted in a very friendly way..........given the choice of the bar or our table and when we decided to go to our table, escorted rather than having it pointed out! The service was extremely attentive but not intrusive, we were advised most helpfully on our wine choice, number of sides to order and when we asked questions about dishes, they were answered knowledgeably. The food was delicious, were a party of seven and chose 6 different dishes from the a la carte menu and everyone was thrilled with their choice. We had one sharing plate of desserts and a cheeseboard between us. Interesting flavours and beautifully presented. We were a mixed age group for a birthday party and everyone left having thoroughly enjoyed their evening - even the bill payer! This is a great, relaxed, fine-dining restaurant with sensible prices and excellent staff. Thanks Jason for the wine choice!

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tracey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2018 via mobile

Wow just arrived at World Service for a meal. Reservation in an hour but thought we’d come in early and have a cocktail. I was greeted by the arrogant manager/maitre D with no welcome or good evening but “its usual to arrive on time” .

How fricking rude!!!! I’m flabbergasted.

They have a large drinking area but he’s saying your not actually allowed to use it.

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank SuzanneFitzpatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2018 via mobile

Let’s get the -ve out first- They had a new menu and hence a saddle of rabbit with trimmings was actually a roulade that was very heavy of the prosciutto ( rolled and shards) that was not mentioned, which was not great when I don’t eat it

When it arrived- he made no apologies, said how could they mention everything when a dish has 16 components ( well this had 5 with no mention of roulade etc) and this was my fault for not outlining what I did not eat. The guy was a jumped up twit, who did not listen and should really not be in a customer facing role until he understands the notion of customer Service

Fortunately the 2 waitresses were fantastic ) he could learn a lot from them

The veal s.breads were excellent great spicing although potentially slightly over cooked but still very acceptable. Also try the goat , very original dish, that however could have been improved from 4.5• to 5 by the addition of more meat jus rather than the arty smear

Final highlights was the chocolate dessert which wa a fantastically complex mouse, no idea why the menu calls it a truffle

Anyway if you Can avoid the jumped twit ( he had his hair in a sort of ponytail) - all good

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Thedr12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed World Service also viewed

Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to World Service? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing