We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyable and informative”

Nottingham Heroes & Villains Tour
Ranked #15 of 26 Tours in Nottingham
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Homicidal medieval Kings, the very first Vampyre, modern Olympians, evil murderers - and the outlaw Robin Hood! From Lady Chatterley’s Lover to Lace and Legends, the rich heritage of Nottingham told through its famous (and infamous) colourful characters. Run by the founder of the hugely successful Nottingham Ghost Walk, experts in Nottingham tours since 1993. “... brilliant. A very enjoyable two hours!” “A history tour for those that don't 'do' history”.
Reviewed 19 July 2015

Our over 50's group booked the Heroes & Villains tour with David for July 2015 and everyone really enjoyed the experience. Even though we all live in Nottinghamshire there was plenty of information we didn't know. David had a really good style when talking with us - no "yawn, yawn - please get on with it" from us !! It was actually the hottest day of the year but David paced the walking to suit. Will certainly be looking to book one of his other tours. Highly recommended.

Thank MalcolmandJanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dr David C, Owner at Nottingham Heroes & Villains Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2015

Many thanks for taking the time to write such a great review, much appreciated! So glad your group had a great time in Nottingham, it was my pleasure to guide you round our great city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (18)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

5 - 9 of 18 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2015

I organised this tour as part of a training and team building day. We learnt a lot, and enjoyed all of it, which is the best way to learn! I found things out about Nottingham that I didn't know after 10 years living here, and was reminded of how much history this city has. It's fascinating to look at buildings you've walked past for years in a fresh light, and just as good for those who know nothing about the city already. The tour was well presented, with a good structure and engaging mix of humour and fact. It was pitched perfectly to our group of adults, who all have a reasonably good general knowledge of history. Nottingham lacks an attraction about our most famous tourist attraction - Robin Hood - David's tour provides that.

3  Thank teammeadows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dr David C, Owner at Nottingham Heroes & Villains Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2015

Many thanks for such a wonderful review, so glad your group had a great time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

A wonderful, knowledgeable & enthusiastic guide with fantastic storytelling skills. David did a great job of keeping our young children engaged throughout the tour (we're impressed at how much they've remembered ... but no spoilers here!) and we all learned loads about the city; much more than if we'd just wandered around it on our own admiring the architecture! It was lovely to be properly 'welcomed' to the city and our teenager was entertained too, so this is truly a tour for all ages and interests. We booked this tour as a stop-off during a long journey home from holiday and it was the perfect refresher. I particularly appreciated the fact that our guide enquired about our onward plans, so that he could tailor the length of the tour accordingly. Fun and fascinating. Thanks David! Kate & family

2  Thank VKate2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dr David C, Owner at Nottingham Heroes & Villains Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you so much Kate for taking the time to post your review, and I’m really glad that your whole family enjoyed the tour! It was my great pleasure to guide you round our historic city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

First of all the weather was great. Starting at the Salutation inn the tour guide- who is friendly and has great presence- starts a tour of Nottingham, it is informative, interesting and eye opening. I have been in Nottingham all my life and never really looked at buildings, enquired about past residents or learned the history of anywhere within this great city. Not really suitable for people with walking difficulties as it runs for 2 hours and covers quite a distance. My feet were killing by the end. However well worth doing! Robin Hood, Byron, William Lee and Torvill and Dean are described with great detail and with finesse. As well as the Castle, The Trip to Jerusalem, The Bell, The Galleries of Justice and more. Great value at £8 pp.

2  Thank Emming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dr David C, Owner at Nottingham Heroes & Villains Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment, I really appreciate it. I’m so glad you had a great time and many thanks for the comments – even managed to get warm sunshine as well! Sorry about your feet, but glad it was worth it!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2012

A party of 19 of us went on the Heroes and Villains Tour last weekend. We ranged in age from 8 to 80, some of had lived in Nottm all our lives and others came from around the country. David's knowledge and enthusiasm is exceptional, the pace of the tour is perfect and everyone really enjoyed it (as well as learning a thing or two!) This really is a great experience - everything is handled very professionally from booking through to the tour itself, and to top it off David is not only a really nice guy, he also managed to postpone the rain until after the tour had finished! Magic! The only thing I'm not prepared to comment on is whether Robin Hood is real or not......you will have to go on the tour to find out!

2  Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dr David C, Owner at Nottingham Heroes & Villains Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

Thanks Rachel for your great feedback, and it’s so good to hear that the whole age range enjoyed the tour. Many thanks for posting your review, much appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nottingham Heroes & Villains Tour also viewed

Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to Nottingham Heroes & Villains Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing