We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
The symbol of the history of Nottingham

This museum offers a collection of paintings and sculptures but the highlight of the castle is the... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
georgeworld85
,
Athens, Greece
short visit to Robin Hood's town

A visit in Nottingham to finally visit the famous Robin Hood's hometown. The castle is not too... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Szabina T
,
Island of Malta, Malta
Read all 2 009 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Nottingham
from US$19,30
More Info
from US$6,40
More Info
from US$23,20
More Info
Reviews (2 009)
Filter reviews
2 009 results
Traveller rating
525
664
504
203
113
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
525
664
504
203
113
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cave tour nottingham castle robin hood mortimer's hole beer festival worth a visit interesting history beautiful grounds couple of hours city centre regiment mortimers costumes statue war century sandstone
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 2 009 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2018 via mobile

Visited the castle today and went on one of the cave tours, we got more value than what we expected. Not only did we go in to the caves but also a dungeon, and were educated on the history of the castle and caves by our very informative tour guide, Mark. Would be nice if the tours continued when the castle reopens.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Yvonne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2018 via mobile

Came to the castle today whilst children at school. Went on the cave tour led by Mark. Small group which was great. Mark gave us lots of interesting information, was engaging and humorous. Brilliant to see some of Nottinghams vast network of caves and hear some of the Gruesome history behind them. Only downside is that the tours are ending as the castle is closing shortly. We won't be able to bring the children. Thanks for a great tour Mark.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Lysajsilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2018 via mobile

Lots to see and learn here. History buff or not it's a great venue, hence why the annual October beer festival is also hostedhere.

Lovely setting with great veins over the city. Not like your regular 'castle', great to be included with anyway out in Nottingham.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank SYclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2018 via mobile

Centrally located this castle is worth a visit. But do t expect and actual castle. The walls are there and a rather lovely house in the gorgeous grounds. It’s nice wandering around the outside perimeter looking up with a cold pint in your hands from the Trip to Jerusalem pub and thinking of maid Marian back in the day.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank 42mark42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2018

Let me state first up that I am not from Nottingham...but I do love this city. For me it has everything one would desire from a place one inhabits or even visits and this great museum is one of its gem. The rightly laud their own and when I visited there was an exhibition on the work of Paul Smith. Also the wonderful military museum dedicated to the Robin Hood Rifles is also worth seeing. If you don't enjoy museums then the views from the Castle grounds are well worth the visit alone. The views on offer are wonderful with instruction boards detailing all the significant sites before your gaze. There is also the poignant statue commemorating another great son of Nottingham, Albert Ball, in these grounds and is worth sitting on the adjacent benches and quietly reflect on this young man's heroic sacrifice. All of this in or within the grounds of this magnificent Ducal Palace(not a castle!) which provides such an elegant skyline backdrop to this wonderful city. Go on, try it...I'm sure you won't be disappointed.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Lentony1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews