We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lyn Smith”

Poppy Field Farm, Dining & Carvery
Ranked #172 of 597 Restaurants in Northampton
Price range: US$5 - US$26
Description: We are part of the Farmhouse Inns group and we are a traditional Pub Restaurant which offers carvery main menu, Breakfast, Children's menu we also have ice cream parlour and all our gateaux are homemade on the premises. We have a children's distraction area which has consoles and games, as well as an area for the under 5s.
Restaurant details
Description: We are part of the Farmhouse Inns group and we are a traditional Pub Restaurant which offers carvery main menu, Breakfast, Children's menu we also have ice cream parlour and all our gateaux are homemade on the premises. We have a children's distraction area which has consoles and games, as well as an area for the under 5s.
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

Excellent Hunters chicken, really succulent and very tasty. waitress Clare T. was very helpful and cheerful, greeted customer with a wonderful smile and made sure that we had everything we needed. The meal did take a while to arrive but as the food was cooked to order that was to be expected and was well worth the wait.

Thank Lyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly P, Manager at Poppy Field Farm, Dining & Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Hi Lyn

Thank you for this i will be sure to pass on the feedback to the kitchen and Clare T

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (472)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 83 of 472 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

Had a fantastic experience there was a member of staff by the name of alice who was so polite helpful and enthuisatic about her job which truley gave a fantastic atmosphere so will definitely go back

Thank nwddllinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly P, Manager at Poppy Field Farm, Dining & Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Hi MR



Thank you for the feedback i will be sure to let Alice know the kind remarks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

We had been meaning to visit for some time, after heard many positive reviews. We were greeted at the door and welcomed warmly. The restaurant was quite empty which was a welcome surprise, however it filled quickly once we had arrived. We decided on a carvery, hunters chicken and a farm burger which we ordered at the bar along with drinks. Another very friendly member of staff, took our order and served drinks. A slight point could be she needed a little more training in the drinks menu and how to make them. My daughter visited the carvery and commented on the huge choice. My husband enjoyed his burger, the hunter chicken was quite nice, a bit greasy though. Unfortunately none of us had room left for the amazing cake selection but we will be back to sample this soon. In hindsight I wish I had taken advantage of the “cake away” service. All in all a really nice and deceptively large restaurant which was clean and tidy. Well worth a visit

Thank Rachelplim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly P, Manager at Poppy Field Farm, Dining & Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Rachelplim


Thank you for the great review we are glad you had a great experiance

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018

Went for a family birthday meal with family and friends on Friday 22nd June 2018. Although we had booked well in advance and had received confirmation they had lost the booking. Horrendous queues to order drinks and meals perhaps because one single member of staff was taking orders and dispensing cake. When one lady commented on the length of the queue the guy behind the till refused to serve her and stormed off. Having finally ordered and found seating the food eventually arrived. Unfortunately the Ultimate Macaroni and Bacon I eventually got a plate of glutinous Macaroni but I by this time I didn't have the heart or strength to complain. The food was just about adequate but the place seemed to be horrendously understaffed. I was looking forward to ordering sweets from a comprehensive menu but it was now 10pm and the place was almost empty. At no time did staff check to ensure we were satisfied or enquire whether were enjoying the meal. Perhaps safest not to. Went with daughter to pay the bill and the surly till person had returned, my daughter asked him to bin the receipt, the bin being next to him. His reaction was to mutter loud enough to be heard "for f****s sake. A really abysmal night out which put a damper on my daughters birthday.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank jm0nvid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly P, Guest Relations Manager at Poppy Field Farm, Dining & Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

jm0nvid.


I am sorry for the poor experiance you have had and can assure you thsi is being looked into. We have a new General Manager who has just joined and as a team we are working hard to improve. Once again i am sorry for the poor experiance and can assure you this will not be the same going forward


Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

Visited for dinner time meal, booked 2 weeks prior to our visit. table requested near to play area, only to try to be seated full length of the restaurant away from the play area. The waitress service was good. We chose desert offering cherry or summerfruit crumble. Chose cherry desert, only to receive summerfruit. had to personally return to the manager to complain. The manager said it was cherry, obviously does not know cherry from summerfruit. Offered to replace the food after the rest of the family had finished eating. Rather an abrasive mannerism from the manager named Clayton. In the end we recorded our desert cost not even to relieve an apology.

Thank stewpot462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Poppy Field Farm, Dining & Carvery also viewed

Northampton, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 
Northampton, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 
Great Glen, Leicestershire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 

Been to Poppy Field Farm, Dining & Carvery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing