We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect, just perfect”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Newly refurbished kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
Newly refurbished kitchen
Kitchen/dining area
Kitchen feature
Yummy chocolate cake from Cafe Concerto by York Minster
Yorkshire Tea - simply the best!
Yorkshire contemporary art
Feature mirror
Bedroom with king-sized bed, Egyptian cotton bedding and soft white towels
Bedroom with king-sized bed, Egyptian cotton bedding and soft white towels
Bedroom with king-sized bed, Egyptian cotton bedding and soft white towels
Feature mirror
Bright hallway leading through to the master bedroom
Hall table
Bright hallway leading through to the dining/lounge/kitchen
Bathroom with bath and overhead electric shower
York in the snow
York in the snow
Dining table set for a celebration meal
Outside of the apartment
Outside of the apartment
View of the garden from the apartment
Car parking outside of the apartment
York Minster
Betty's famous tearooms
Clifford's Tower
York Minster
Inside of York Minster
The Shambles
York Ghost Tour
Spring flowers and York Minster
Night cruise on the River Ouse
Pub by the River Ouse
Stonegate in York leading up to York Minster
St Mary's Abbey Ruins
The Shambles
York Christmas Marketis
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Rob H
Willington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect, just perfect”
Reviewed 27 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

First impression... Arrived at 7.15pm on Friday night after a 2 hour journey straight after work! But within 15 minutes the car was securely parked, we had met the very friendly and caring owners, who helped us with our luggage and had already boiled the kettle and baked a cake for us, had a quick, but very informative tour of the property and we immediately relaxed and were well into holiday mode. Never have we had such a lovely warm welcome at any place we have stopped at in 30 years of staying in cottages, apartments & houses in UK.

High quality decor and very comfortable. Very central location. Will review again after we have had time to settle... At the moment drinking the extremely welcome coffee and eating the even more welcome & delicious homemade cake provided.

Review of our stay... Our weekend stay at 10 Cloisters Walk went much too quickly. Partly because a weekend in York is never enough, but also because we felt so at home and so comfortable that we didn't want our stay to end.

Difficult to include everything that made this the perfect apartment for us, or for anyone who is looking for a one bedroom apartment, that is right in the centre of York yet has secure parking and is as peaceful as a country cottage. To call this a premium property is an understatement. Spotlessly clean, imaginatively and tastefully presented, fully equipped with quality technology and equipment. Nothing missing. Nothing scrimped on. 100% satisfied. Comfortable bed and sofa, crisp bedding, comfortable & stylish dining, well appointed & spotless kitchen... I could go on.

Memories of our stay... Being greeted on arrival by Melanie & David with homemade cake & freshly boiled kettle; Being able to pop out as soon as the sun peered from behind the clouds to wander round York Minster, around the city walls, along the famous streets, even before the crowds were out; breakfast in Cafe Concerto; listening to my favourite iPad playlist on the music centre with lights turned down low, looking through the window over the beautiful garden as the sun slowly sank and the top of the Minster tower visible over the roofline softly bathed in light. Waking up refreshed after a good night's sleep. Returning home tired from all the fresh air and walking around this beautiful city, but refreshed and relaxed and ready to face the world again.

Good memories to keep us going until we get the chance to return to York and to 10 Cloisters Walk.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location & secure parking and the welcome from the owners
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Apr 2016
Thank you for your kind words, we are overwhelmed by your review of our apartment and so glad that if offered you what you needed for a relaxing break away. We have worked hard to create a special, luxurious space and have tried to think of everything that our guests would need when away from home and really appreciate your feedback. The ideal location of the apartment, along with secure parking makes it a great base from which to explore York. It will be great to have you back to stay with us again, you will be most welcome.
With Best Wishes
Melanie and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard J
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Apartment & Brilliant Service”
Reviewed 17 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What a lovely apartment only a few minutes from the centre of York.

Melanie and David were very friendly and helpful on arrival, showing us around the apartment and leaving us with a home-made cake. They were both very accommodating and were happy to answer any questions we had throughout our stay. We had a slight problem with the shower initially, but while we were out for the day they immediately sorted out the problem and presented us with a voucher for Betty's Tea Room for our troubles - such excellent service!

The apartment itself was modern and very well equipped, with 2 smart TVs and a very comfortable bed! It was also very tidy and exceptionally clean, could not be faulted. The location of the apartment was conveniently close to the centre, with loads of lovely restaurants and attractions nearby.

We will definitely be returning on our next visit to York and would recommend to anyone planning a mini-break (or longer stay) in York.

Thanks for everything!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bed - very comfortable!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Apr 2016
Hi Richard, We are really glad you had a good time in York and thank you for your kind comments. We are sorry about the inconvenience with the shower, we were able to fit a new shower within a few hours as we work with such great and reliable tradesmen. Glad you enjoyed your trip to Bettys!
With Best Wishes
Melanie and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola C
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Top Notch!”
Reviewed 1 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This apartment was a great choice and a real find! It’s right in the middle of town with on-site parking which was a real bonus as parking is expensive in York. Melanie and David are wonderful hosts, they supplied us with really helpful suggestions in advance of our stay and gave us such a warm welcome. The apartment is really well appointed, it’s bright and airy and the high-end finishes make it feel very luxurious. They have thought of everything and it really did feel like home from home. We had read that there had been flooding in York just after Christmas but rest assured if you are thinking about coming to York there are no signs of any flooding now – York looked absolutely glorious, we had a fantastic weekend and look forward to returning again soon.

Thank you! xxxx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly, approachable hosts and the high spec of the property.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Feb 2016
We are so pleased that you had a great weekend in York , enjoyed staying in our apartment and felt relaxed. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to York. With Best Wishes Melanie and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue M
Market Drayton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent, luxurious apartment five minutes from city centre.”
Reviewed 25 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Cannot say enough good things about this apartment. Within sight of the city walls and five minutes walk to the centre, it offered easy access to all the delights York has to offer without ever moving the car.
Our hosts were charming and welcoming, meeting us on our arrival and explaining everything we needed to know. Very concise written information about the apartment and the city was available in the apartment.
The apartment itself was very well appointed; modern, bright and warm, extremely comfortable bed, smart TV and extra TV in the bedroom, dvd player, dishwasher, washing machine, internet access and lots more. Lots of lovely little touches, flowers and plants, rugs and cushions made it feel like home from home.
Thank you again Melanie and David for making our stay so enjoyable. We shall certainly be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quietness of the location, so close to the city centre.
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jan 2016
Thank you Sue and Bert for your kind words. You were delightful house guests and we are really pleased that our apartment gave you a comfortable base from which to explore York. We really look forward to welcoming you back. With Best Wishes Melanie and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denise109...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A wonderful restful haven!”
Reviewed 30 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We have just returned from a long weekend in York where we were warmly greeted by Melanie and David who already had the kettle on and had baked a cake in anticipation of our arrival. Communication had been excellent throughout the booking process and we had even been sent suggestions of where to book to eat knowing that it would be busy at this time of year. The apartment is beautifully and tastefully decorated and very clean. There were fresh flower arrangements in both the bedroom and living room and all the basics for our stay had been provided. All we had to do was relax and enjoy it! York itself was, as expected, very busy but nonetheless a fascinating place to spend a long weekend and we passed our time in pubs, tea rooms, Christmas attractions, shops and tourist spots - all with the aim of keeping warm and dry - whilst the storms of the weekend wreaked havoc outside. Thank you Melanie and David for providing such a wonderful haven for us to come home to each night.
We would certainly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Nov 2015
Hi Denise and Rob, We are so glad you had a lovely weekend and that you enjoyed the comforts of our apartment. It sounds as though you had an action packed weekend, it's a wonderful City to explore and really pleased that our recommendations were useful.
With Best Wishes Melanie and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing