We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Returning for a third visit!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Kitchen Area
The cosy contemporary lounge with log burner
Secluded rural location
Nearby Village - Newton -on Ouse
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Leicester...
leicestershire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Returning for a third visit!”
Reviewed 23 March 2015 for a stay in April 2014

As a romantic getaway this cottage was just perfect! My husband and I booked a mid week break to celebrate our wedding anniversary and had a fabulous time. The cottage and outdoor hot tub maintains privacy throughout but with the added bonus of the owners being on site if required. There is a park and ride nearby which you can use to explore the gorgeous city of York. We were so impressed that we re booked a surprise long weekend with our two sons and they absolutely loved it. We have recently booked a third visit as a family again and the boys can't wait to use the hot tub and jacuzzi bath. I can't recommend this cottage enough and look forward to our next visit.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadCow2
Salford, Lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderfully luxurious and thoroughly relaxing break”
Reviewed 23 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Owl Barn Cottage was a real find for a last minute getaway. Margaret was beyond helpful from start to finish - a real model of customer service excellence.
The cottage was incredibly well equipped, cosy and had everything we needed for a perfect stay - especially the amazing hot tub!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wonderful hot tub in the chilly spring night air
Liked least: Nothing at all!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ianlufc82
1 review
“Perfect romantic escape”
Reviewed 20 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

This was our 2nd visit to owl barn cottage, and I really cannot rate it highly enough! We went this time for valentines weekend and beautiful flowers, chocolates and champagne were waiting when we arrived. The setting is perfect, isolated and so quiet and peaceful, but still only a short drive from York City centre. The cottage itself is superb, very classy with the log burner, under floor heating, stunning natural features and a jacuzzi bath. It is modern and comfortable in the extreme! And the icing on the cake is the hot tub! On our previous visit we drank champagne in there as snow fell. No snow this time but still a wonderful relaxing evening. We will 200% be back here, in fact we have pledged to get a weekend here every year now!! A perfect weekend break.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandy-ole...
1 review
“Relaxing weekend break”
Reviewed 18 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We stayed in Owl Barn Cottage for 2 nights after looking for a relaxing retreat. The cottage was perfect. It has exposed beams and a lovely log burner, The hot tub was our favourite part and was great to relax in with a glass of prosecco after a lovely walk in the surrounding countryside. We can't wait to return.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rachp1985
Newcastle
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect romantic retreat”
Reviewed 18 March 2015 for a stay in August 2014

Me and my husband have stayed at the Owl Barn twice now and have loved it both times! I have also been for a girls weekend. The cottage is gorgeous inside, big beds, wood burner and a jacuzzi bath. The hot tub outside is amazing, very private! Margaret (the owner) is lovely and will go out of her way to make sure you enjoy your stay. The cottage is only about 20 mins from York and doesn't cost much in a taxi if you fancied a few drinks. It's also close to the park and ride. We will definitely continue to visit the cottage as it's such a lovely getaway!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing