We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sold out”
Review of The Dormouse

The Dormouse
Ranked #506 of 1 027 Restaurants in York
Price range: US$9 - US$33
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Dormouse in York is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
Reviewed 9 June 2018 via mobile

Visited one evening in June for a catch up and a meal. Nearly every thing I ordered appeared to be sold out.
Fancied a nice pint of Doom Bar from the pump but sold out! Ordered an alternative
Went for mushroom starter and a ribeye steak with a mushroom sauce only to be told it was the same as the starter. Waiter returned to advise that ribeye steak had sold out. Ordered fillet instead medium rare. My friend ordered the same. They were delivered very well done and not medium rare - seems to be a theme from other posts that doesn't matter how you want your steak it only comes in one style
Waiter returned to ask if we would like desserts - mmmm yes please Creme Brulue - guess what 'Sold Out'

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank A6205WYsimong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Dormouse, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Hi Simon G, we regret your most recent visit with us was not up to the standards we strive for. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We will use your comments to refine our efforts to ensure this issue does not happen again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (882)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 105 of 883 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2018 via mobile

Party of 17 had lunch here today. The food was good traditional pub food. The service was v.good. We had pre-ordered our choices but we ordered our drinks on arrival, they arrived quickly & not long afterwards the starters were served. We weren't rushed & everyone enjoyed their meals. All in all a very pleasant lunch & at £14.50 for 3 courses good value.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank FoodBuddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Dormouse, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2018

Hi Foodbuddie, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The Dormouse. We're happy we could meet your expectations! We look forward to your next visit! Take care!
Team dormouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2018

The food is fantastic and although it's quaint, you can't escape that your in a pub and not a restaurant (although the prices are restaurant worthy). Some of the seats are uncomfortable and the last time I was in their a large group had been seated outside the bathroom doors, so customers had to squeeze through and ask people to move chairs just to get to the bathroom, not good at all. For the value, you may as well take a taxi to York centre and go fine dining.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Dormouse, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Thank you for letting us know about your recent visit to The Dormouse.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018

It's because of it's location and the fact that it is always open, that you can't ignore this place. Lots of reviews over the years by ourselves. You will get a hot meal and it won't cost a lot. The quality is hit and miss .... steadily average. Getting exactly what it says on the tin. Hungry - visit - feed leave, The end.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank BPasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Dormouse, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2018

Bpasta, we truly appreciate your honest feedback.
Team Dormouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018

The food, apart from some steak which was tough, was generally very good and reasonably priced.

They ran out of prosecco one night, and, had not managed to source any by the following night, we had a much more expensive alternative! Surely, they could have acquired some more???

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Madknitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Dormouse, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2018

Hi Madknitter, thank you so much for your positive comments about The Dormouse!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Dormouse also viewed

 
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Dormouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing