We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wish we could have stayed longer”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Amy H
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wish we could have stayed longer”
Reviewed 10 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Could not fault our experience at 59 St Denys, as we were arriving earlier than the 4pm check-in we were kindly on this occasion offered an early check-in which was very convenient. The house itself is very warm, clean & homely - everything we needed was provided and as previous guests have stated a bottle of Prosecco, milk & biscuits were left.. even a Sunday newspaper! The decking area was fantastic for the afternoon/evening sun. This house beats a hotel stay for sure! Thank you Jerry & Jocelyn.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fluxan
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Clean, well placed and well equipped”
Reviewed 31 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Jerry was very helpful and flexible when we were running a bit late. The house was well equipped and the owners had supplied everything we could ever need.

The house is also in a brilliant location as you're in town within minutes and there are a lot of restaurants and shops within a very short distance on foot.

Very easy from start to finish and a lovely stay.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValerieW9...
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 4 May 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Perfect location in a quiet street literally a few minutes walk from the centre of York, Shambles, Minster etc. Car parking available round the corner and lots of restaurants, cafes and bars nearby. The accommodation was very comfortable for 4 adults, and the house is well furnished and equipped with nespresso coffee maker, dishwasher, power shower and very comfortable beds. We loved the additional touches including prosecco, cookies, tea and coffee etc. We ate out each evening trying the Polish, Sardinian and Thai restaurants - all good but Polish my personal favourite. Thank you very much Jerry and Jocelyn for your help, wonderful accommodation, and apologies for delay in writing this review. We will definitely be back and have already recommended to friends and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: The weather!!!! - rainy March so unable to use the lovely back patio
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
horacesmu...
England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Perfect weekend stay”
Reviewed 21 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

This small house is perfectly positioned chose to shops and restaurants for a car free visit to this wonderful city.
You can drop off cases etc stopping just outside the house before parking with the permit provided a few minutes walk away. This terraced house is well equipped and comfortable with a living/dining area downstairs and galley kitchen and two bedrooms and a bathroom upstairs. The outdoor yard has been decked very stylishly and would be perfect for sitting out in the summer.
We had been kindly left biscuits, milk and wine along with pods for the coffee maker tea and ice in the freezer. Wasn't sure whether the freezer drawer full of oranges was to keep the appliance smelling sweet or to encourage us to make marmalade!
The only negative I can think of is that I couldn't have brought my mum who can't manage stairs or over bath showers.

There is a fabulous polish cafe within minutes where we ate breakfast and a good choice of restaurants nearby with about a fifteen minute walk to the Minister.
This visit was a stress free trip for us made so by the perfect accommodation.
Would happily return here next time we visit York.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lwpark
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed 20 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We enjoyed a lovely few days at No. 59. Jerry was very helpful and met us, taking the time to show us where the nearby (free) car parking space was and kindly drove my husband back. The house is tastefully decorated and well equipped. Lots of nice touches. Comfortable beds. Great location with lots of good restaurants a few minutes walk away and easy walking distance to all the main sightseeing places. We will definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Central location
Liked least: Bus stop in front of house
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing