We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Styleish, comfortable, homely and central with...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Gillygate Central

Key pad closed
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Key pad closed
Wall mounted fire in addition to full central heating. Real wooden floor.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
95 reviews
Key pad closed
Wall mounted fire in addition to full central heating.
Real wooden floor.
Separate, private entrance.
Sleek, modern shower room.
Fully fitted kitchen diner.
No washing up with an integrated dishwasher.
Super-king bed.  TV with DVD.
Can be twin beds on request.
Easy to operate chair-beds allow the apartment to accommodate 4.
Dining table can be extended to accommodate 4.
Eat in or eat out - you will be in the centre of a vibrant city with every option.
A complimentary bottle of prosecco will be waiting in the fridge for you.
The time will fly in this beautiful city and luxurious apartment.
Keypad closed
Opening keypad
Keys revealed
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 95 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
rosieg676...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Styleish, comfortable, homely and central with attentive caring hosts who have thought of everything.”
Reviewed 30 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

If you are going to York, stop looking, this is the rental to book!

I booked Gillygate Central as a surprise for my parent's 60th wedding anniversary. Lynne was so helpful and friendly from the start. My parents loved the homely touches.The welcome pack for their arrival with bread, milk, prosecco, as well as a lovely anniversary card for them was a very thoughtful touch.

Lynne and her husband were there at the gate to meet my parents after a long train journey, helping them in with their cases and showing them how things worked, which was very appreciated by them and me.

The apartment was very cosy and warm in what was a very unexpectedly cold week. They said it was so central for everything that York has to offer and they made use of the local restaurants just beside the apartment.

They have both commented on the beautiful decoration which is even nicer than the lovely pictures posted.

Gillygate Central surpassed all their expectations and made their week away very comfortable and enjoyable.

It was a comfort to me to know that Lynne was such a genuinely lovely, caring host who has put a lot of thought into making the apartment a real home from home.

Many thanks

Roseanne

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Central location, beautifully decorated, attentive host.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2016
My goodness! How on earth do we respond to that? All I can say is thank you very much and we were delighted that your lovely parents had such a great stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reiki2016
Tarporley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb accommodation. Very attentive owner. Close to centre of York. Amazing experience. Will definitely go back.”
Reviewed 18 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Highly recommended apartment. Superb touches, fridge stocked with essentials. Absolutely lovely hostess, Lynne. Very attentive and so welcoming. We so enjoyed visiting the culture that York offers but equally enjoyed this apartment and it covers all we could ask for....comfort, amazing cleanliness, warmth, all mod cons, comfortable beds, beautiful bedding and gorgeous soft towels, so easy to walk into York, garage facilities. It felt so homely.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Absolutely everything about the apartment and our stay. Lynne is an amazing lady.
Liked least: Absolutely nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Apr 2016
Thank you for your great review. I am so pleased you had such a lovely time. York is a fabulous city. Love to see you again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bård S
1 review
“Excellent apartment and location”
Reviewed 28 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Gillygate Central is situated within walking distance to all the sights in York and only 10 mins walk from the train station. The apartment is so clean and delicate in every way,a perfect place for a family of three or four people. Gillygate itself cater for all your needs and a Sainsbury is just around the corner. Owner Lynne is a warm and welcoming host,even leaving us wine,milk and fresh bread on arrival. We'll certainly be back soon.....!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Apartment and location
Liked least: Everything was fine
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Mar 2016
From guests who visit York a lot, as you do, it was such a pleasure to hear that you loved Gillygate Central so much. Thank you for a great review and we look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneOsull...
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Another fantastic trip to gillygate so glad we returned.”
Reviewed 18 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

This are second visit to Gillygate central and it was excellent as was the first. The apartment is amazing everything you need its like home from home. So near to all the wonderful attractions York has to offer. Thank you for the return gift very thoughtful. Lynne was so kind and helpful on arrival and she has a real flair with the finishing touches, nice bottle of fizz and fresh bread went down a treat. We are looking forward to are third visit can't wait, beautiful city, luxury apartment and brilliant people. What more do you need.See you soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Mar 2016
All our guests are special but as the very first ones a couple of years ago you have to take the prize. It was particularly nice to welcome you again and thank you for the lovely review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChalkyB7
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect location, superb apartment!”
Reviewed 15 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We were very pleased to have booked Gillygate Central, the images online were good but it exceeded our expectations when we arrived. Beautifully fitted out to a high standard and very spacious for the two of us. We could easily have taken our two children with us and space would not have been an issue.
Perfect location for venturing out into York and mooching which is exactly what we were looking for.
Excellent pubs, cafes and restaurants all within anything from a 1 to 10 minute walk. York Minster, The Shambles etc all well within a 10 minute walk.
The owners were very helpful, providing us with plenty of useful info prior to our stay and the bottle of fizz, butter, bread and jam in the fridge for our arrival was a lovely touch.
If we ever return for a break in York, and i'm sure we will, we'll definitely look to book up at Gillygate Central again.

Pros: All of the above and more...

Cons: None

See you again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Mar 2016
What a fabulous review! It was lovely to see how you enjoyed York and Gillygate Central so much during your stay. We would be delighted to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;