We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect location, superb apartment!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Gillygate Central

Key pad closed
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Key pad closed
Wall mounted fire in addition to full central heating. Real wooden floor.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
95 reviews
Key pad closed
Wall mounted fire in addition to full central heating.
Real wooden floor.
Separate, private entrance.
Sleek, modern shower room.
Fully fitted kitchen diner.
No washing up with an integrated dishwasher.
Super-king bed.  TV with DVD.
Can be twin beds on request.
Easy to operate chair-beds allow the apartment to accommodate 4.
Dining table can be extended to accommodate 4.
Eat in or eat out - you will be in the centre of a vibrant city with every option.
A complimentary bottle of prosecco will be waiting in the fridge for you.
The time will fly in this beautiful city and luxurious apartment.
Keypad closed
Opening keypad
Keys revealed
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 95 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
ChalkyB7
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect location, superb apartment!”
Reviewed 15 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We were very pleased to have booked Gillygate Central, the images online were good but it exceeded our expectations when we arrived. Beautifully fitted out to a high standard and very spacious for the two of us. We could easily have taken our two children with us and space would not have been an issue.
Perfect location for venturing out into York and mooching which is exactly what we were looking for.
Excellent pubs, cafes and restaurants all within anything from a 1 to 10 minute walk. York Minster, The Shambles etc all well within a 10 minute walk.
The owners were very helpful, providing us with plenty of useful info prior to our stay and the bottle of fizz, butter, bread and jam in the fridge for our arrival was a lovely touch.
If we ever return for a break in York, and i'm sure we will, we'll definitely look to book up at Gillygate Central again.

Pros: All of the above and more...

Cons: None

See you again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Mar 2016
What a fabulous review! It was lovely to see how you enjoyed York and Gillygate Central so much during your stay. We would be delighted to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mutley56
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Stylish Comfortable Stay!!”
Reviewed 18 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

A real home from home!! Very comfortable, warm & inviting apartment only minutes from the stunning York Minster. Attention to detail on the accommodation finishes, quality of whole apartment shows the care taken on the conversion of the property.We would not hesitate to recommend & would book again if we were to holiday in York. A big thank you to Lynne.& family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Walk in shower & very comfortable bed, really clean apartment too
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2016
Thank you so much for a terrific review. It's so nice to be appreciated!!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm W
1 review
“No floods! Media hype”
Reviewed 3 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We have just stayed at this beautiful apartment and did not need our wellies! We could not believe what we were watching on TV as this apartment could not be more central but was certainly not flooded and we could access the whole of York apart from the river frontage. It would be a shame if the tv reports put people off as we had such a great time in this warm, modern and clean little gem. We would definitely like to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2016
Thank you for that, very thoughtful. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at Gillygate Central.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephenrT...
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First class in every way.”
Reviewed 26 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Lovely basement flat, everything was as described & the whole experience from the booking onwards was faultless. Superb central location only minutes from York Minster we travelled by train & a car is not necessary. Very good places for food & drink only a short stroll away. I would certainly would book again & recommend highly to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the standard of the flat & it's location.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Dec 2015
Thank you for your review. I am so glad you enjoyed the apartment and your visit to York.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christmas...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 3 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We celebrated our anniversary recently with a week-end in York, staying at this apartment. We will be returning, as it is excellent. The apartment has all you need and more for a short or longer break, and is perfectly situated for both sight seeing and shopping in the City Centre. And after all that's done, you have yards to walk to many pubs, bars or restaurants.
Well worth a visit, good value.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No Sky Sports
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Dec 2015
That's great! It's really nice when guests have a special date to celebrate in Gillygate Central. Thank you for your review and we certainly hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$100
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing