We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful place to stay in the heart of the City”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Lendal Tower

Lendal Tower
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lendal Tower
The stunning four-poster bed located in the master bedroom Master bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Lendal Tower
The stunning four-poster bed located in the master bedroom
Master bedroom
Luxury Roll Top Copper Bath
Luxury Roll Top Copper Bath 2
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Second bedroom
Mezzanine floor bedroom
Living room
Living Room
Spiral staircase leading up the 4 floors of the Tower
Original water meter
Solid oak dining table
Kitchen
Kitchen
Roof Terrace
Roof Terrace and Museum Gardens
The beautiful secluded garden
Lendal Tower from a distance alongside Lendal Bridge
The Tower in the snow
The Tower in the snow II
Visit England 5 Star Grading
Visit England Gold Award Winning
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Tower -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
GiantUk
UK
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay in the heart of the City”
Reviewed 9 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed as a group of 6 for a week of family celebrations. The Tower is a wonderful place to stay with each bedroom having its own identity. The family loved it. Nathan met us on arrival and gave us a tour of the Tower, so that we immediately felt at home. He even emailed during the week to check that all was well.
This is a great place to stay when visiting York, close enough for everywhere to be within walking distance and yet far enough from the hustle and bustle to have some peace. Unfortunately we did not get to use the roof terrace or garden but can imagine they would be a good place to unwind in the warmer months.
Thank you to everyone who helped to make our week very special.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and feels special
Liked least: Creaky stairs!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2017
Thank you for your kind words, i'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.
I'm sorry to hear that you weren't able to take advantage of the roof terrace due to the weather however i hope you come back to join us again soon to experience the terrace in fairer weather.

Best Regards
Mike & Nathan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dawn b
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Up on the roof”
Reviewed 7 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We have just stayed for a week, with friends. There were 3 bedrooms , too were ensuite, the mezzanine had the downstairs bathroom. There was a roof terrace, which we loved and the stairs up to it were not that bad. the kitchen had a dish washer, and washing machine, wine cooler ect it was spacious. The living room was comfortable and spacious with a dinning area as well.
there was a garage big enough for 2 large cars.

York has great pubs, cafes and restaurants, for every budget With the Minster a must see, there are plenty of attractions. I would recommend the York pass.

We would like to thank the owner for a great stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the roof terrace
Liked least: how dark it was
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jan 2017
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed the property and the various venues York has to offer. We hope you return to visit us again soon and create more fond memories of the city.

Many thanks

Nathan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bondgirls
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous property!!!”
Reviewed 30 December 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here with family members for 4 nights in October. Beautiful property in an ideal location for exploring York. The tower has all the amenities you could possibly need for a holiday. Outstanding value compared to a lot of the hotels. The tower oozes history but has modern amenities. We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely stay again in the future. The management are extremely helpful and ensure you have a pleasant stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jan 2016
Thank you very much for your kind words. I'm delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay at the Tower. I hope you made some lasting memories and we would be delighted to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Nathan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reviewque...
Yorkshire England
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“amazing, quirky”
Reviewed 27 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This property is amazing and quite unique. We were met with a very friendly property manager, Nathan who kindly showed us around the property. It is in the heart of York and fabulously well placed. The ambiance of the tower is amazing and we really enjoyed staying there. I do think it is best suited to two couples though. My bedroom was on the mezzanine level and although the room was lovely, the bathroom/toilet was downstairs, through the dining room, through the lounge and into a stone flagged area. This was OK until we had a small 'flood' in that area on the first day. Nathan was great in trying to fix it for us but it couldn't be fixed until next day. This presented a problem as to go to the loo meant walking through one of the bedrooms above to get to the en-suite, and disturbing the person there-OK if it's 3 friends, as we were but would be very awkward if 3 couples. In the end we decided i would paddle through he flooded area (which smelled a little), step into a bowl of disinfectant and then step on a towel afterwards. There's nothing like stepping into a bowl of icy water in the middle of the night to wake you up! The garage was also flooded so we couldn't park there but Nathan kindly offered to refund our parking. Having said all that, the property is amazing and it wouldn't put me off staying again-we plan a summer trip next time to take advantage of the fabulous roof terrace-totally accept that flooding is part of the territory, but...we would come as two couples and skip the mezzanine level

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jan 2016
Thank you for your review. Please accept our sincere apologies for any problems you experienced due to flooding.
Unfortunately the river was at a very high level during your stay which prompted the council to install a large pump at the front of the property in an effort to keep the flood waters at bay however this also meant that access to the garage was restricted. As a further consequence of the flood waters our on site pump was working hard to remove the water that had entered the lift shaft, however the pipe had split and started pouring the water all over the lift machinery room on the ground floor opposite the ground floor bathroom which would have been an understandably unpleasant experience.

I am glad to hear that you were all still able to enjoy the various features the Tower has to offer and it was a pleasure having you stay with us.

Once again we apologise for the inconvenience and the awful weather during your trip and we would love to welcome you back in the future. If you do decide to stay with us again, please get in touch prior to booking and we will be happy to offer a discount on your stay.

Kind Regards

Nathan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloria M
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fabulous Accommodation, Fabulous Location, Fabulous Welcome”
Reviewed 17 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

York is a lovely city with lots to do and many lovely places to eat, drink and generally have a good time. However, the highlight of our visit had to be staying in Lendal Tower. Myself, my husband and our two boys stayed in the Tower for five days and it was a truly memorable experience. The facilities, the welcome and the ambiance of the Tower was just superb, very atmospheric and so much better than a bland hotel that would have cost the same. We were delighted to return the the Tower every day as we were with all our experiences, we all absolutely loved it. Thanks very much to Mike and to Nathan, we had an excellent stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Oct 2015
It is fantastic to hear that you all had such a great time in York and that staying in the Tower was your particular highlight!

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your kind comments and I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back at some point in the future.

Best Regards,

Mike
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;