We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 748)
Filter reviews
1 748 results
Traveller rating
906
519
198
87
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
906
519
198
87
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsloft suiteroll top bathfour posteryork suitepark restaurantantique furniturefree standing bathlovely hotelcity centredouble showerbreakfast was excellentone night staymain buildingposter bedfull englishten minute walkbreakfast room
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 1 748 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

Just got back from a one night stay at the Marmaduke Hotel, and from beginning to end it was an absolute pleasure! Our room was spacious and decorated well, all furniture within keeping of the era. Our bed was so comfy, had a lovely nights sleep! We also had a bath in our en-suite which was lovely! Breakfast was delicious and served promptly. All the staff were friendly, courteous and knowledgeable, felt sad to leave, not only a beautiful hotel but a stunning city! Will definitely return and recommend

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lozza46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes Town... H, Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Thank you for your fabulous 5* review of your recent stay with us at Marmadukes Town House Hotel.
I am pleased that you loved our beautiful Victorian building and our gorgeous decor and antique furniture. We are pleased that you had a lovely nights sleep hopefully you woke up feel nice an refreshed.
Thank you for mentioning, our amazing team how are more then happy to help with anything.
We look forward to you returning!
Kindest Regards,
Emily Ullathorne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018 via mobile

Stayed for just one night on one of the four poster rooms.

Check in was friendly and efficient.

Loved the use of antique and period furniture in the room. Room was clean and well appointed but we would have liked a shower rather than just a bath. A little impractical and the bathroom was big enough for both.

Slept well and the room was quiet despite all the windows being open on a warm night. Being on a side street really makes a difference.

Breakfast was excellent, hot and good quality ingredients. The best thing about it though was the lovely service from the waitress who was attentive and just really good at her job.

Nice ten minute stroll in to the middle of the action of York. We preferred being ever so slightly out of the centre as it made for a peaceful and relaxing stay.

Checkout friendly, staff were very warm. The cleaner chased after us to bring me a pair of trousers I'd left in the wardrobe.

The only downsides were the lack of shower and parking was an additional £7 a night.

I'd recommend this hotel and we'll definately return.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank DollyJune74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes Town... H, Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Thank you for your lovely review of your recent stay with us here at Marmadukes Town House Hotel.
We are located on very quiet street which is great especially on these warm summer nights! We are very close to all of York's attractions.
I am pleased to hear that receive our warm Yorkshire welcome and that our efficient housekeeping team managed to catch you prior to leaving.
We do have a small onsite car park, due to this been limited and our central location we do charge an additional £7 per night. Some of your rooms have baths and some have showers, please ensure that you call direct for your next stay not only can we offer a discount on the room and allocate you a room with your preferred bathroom facilities.
Kind Regards,
Emily Ullathorne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018

Lovely hotel in a quiet area, not to far from the city centre, staff all very friendly and helpful especially the man on reception that gave us his fan as our room was so hot, our room (on top floor of main building) was very nice only niggles were bed very noisy creaky so if you toss and turn could be an issue and no were to put anything in shower ie soap, shampoo which could easily be sorted. Breakfast was excellent and lovely staff and lovely garden and loved the local grey and ginger cats lol. This hotel has lots of character beautiful rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank rachelellisgrimsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes Town... H, Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us here at Marmadukes town House Hotel.
We are situation in a very quiet area of York but only a short walk away from all of York's attractions.
All of the team very work hard to ensure that all of our guests enjoy their stay.
I am sorry that you encountered issues with the noise of the bed. All of our beds are antique.
The neighbourhoods cats do enjoy all the attention that receive from our guests.
Kindest Regards,
Emily Ullathorne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

We stayed one night,
We were warmly greeted, our room was nice, priced accordingly
There is no real shower, a shower unit on the bath, but no curtain, so we both had to have baths
We had dinner in the restaurant and it was very good and we would recommend.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank sometimesdiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes Town... H, Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Thank you for reviewing you recent stay here at Marmadukes Town House Hotel and dining experience at The Park Restaurant.
Some of our rooms have baths some have showers, if you do have a preference we do ask to be advise prior to check in so we can allocate you the most suitable room.
I am pleased that you receive our lovely Yorkshire welcome.
We hope to see you again in the future.
Kind Regards,
Emily Ullathorne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

The staff are really helpful and friendly. The room was lovely, nice size and the bed really comfy. Breakfast was tasty and served in a nice dining room. There is a lovely garden to relax in. It is well placed to reach the city centre and attractions.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank PamLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes Town... H, Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Thank you for taking the time and reviewing your recent stay with us at Marmadukes Town House Hotel.
Our team are a true asset to the hotel, they are all more then happy to help with anything.
I am delighted that you loved your room and had a great nights sleep.
We are very lucky with our location, such a short walk away from all of York's attractions but set back down a quiet street, we even have a gorgeous little garden.
We hope to see you again in the future.
Kindest Regards,
Emily Ullathorne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews