We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
B+B York(York)(Great Value!)
US$185
US$134
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The York Priory(York)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$104
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$299
US$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Express York(York)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$119
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn York City Centre(York)(Great Value!)
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$98/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 27/07
US$206
US$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$145
US$118
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$136/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$140
US$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
Safestay York(York)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$66
US$47
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$63/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

YHA York(Clifton)(Great Value!)
US$64
US$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1 726)
Filter reviews
1 726 results
Traveller rating
894
511
197
87
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
894
511
197
87
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsloft suiteroll top bathyork suitefour posterpark restaurantantique furniturefree standing bathlovely hotelcity centredouble showerminute walkbreakfast was excellentmain buildingone night stayfull englishcar parkbeautiful room
Filter
Updating list...
236 - 241 of 1 726 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2017

We've recently returned from a lovely stay at Marmadukes. First things first the staff on reception are so friendly and helpful - thank you.
We opted to stay in one of the four poster rooms (512) and it was lovely, apart from the noise from a generator or something like that. To be fair it didn't disturb us, well it didn't once the window was closed! The breakfast is great, plenty of choice with good quality ingredients. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the minster and there are loads of restaurants near to the hotel. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Geordia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes Town... H, Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2017

Thank you for your lovely review and taking the time to submitting this.

Thank you for mentioning how friendly and helpful the staff are, they are a credit to the hotel. I am pleased you loved your lovely Four Poster room.

We are sorry you heard some form of generator, We will see if we can look into this.

We are so happy you enjoyed your breakfast, I couldn’t think of a better way to start the day.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind Regards

Adrian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2017

Stayed one night and enjoyed it. Room was on first floor, well furnished but noisy due to wooden floors. Nice big bathroom. Staff friendly and welcoming, looks like a family run business but could be wrong. There is limited car parking which they charge for! They also,ask that you leave the keys with them so they can move the cars to let others out. Cooked to order breakfast was good quality if a little small with only one egg offered and half a mushroom.
Still it's a great location and well worth staying again. Look out for special deals as sometimes it's overpriced.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rangestormer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes Town... H, Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2017

Thank you for your great review.

I am pleased you found your room well furnished, and enjoyed the nice big bathroom.

We aren’t unfortunately a family run hotel however it is lovely that you were given this impression as we are all like one big family here at Marmadukes.

We do have some parking spots which block other bays so we do require these guests to leave their keys at reception in the event that the other guests need to leave.

I am happy you enjoyed your breakfast albeit small portion, please note that should guests require anything additional they are more than welcome to have this.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Adrian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2017

Pleasant hotel in quiet surroundings within easy walking distance of city centre. Helpful and attentive staff. Good breakfast. The room had a four poster bed and was spacious, comfortable and clean. Car parking is a bonus.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jedjensims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes Town... H, Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2017

Thank you for your lovely review.

We are in a fantastic location for exploring the city.

Thank you for mentioning the lovely staff here, they are a pleasure to work with.

We do have on-site parking available at an additional £7 per night which we do advise guests pre-book.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Adrian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2017

This is one of the nicest friendliest hotels we have ever stayed in. The room was so lovely and comfortable and the breakfast was superb. A great big thanks to Lucy, Gary and Dominic for making our stay so enjoyable. Nothing is too much trouble and they even upgraded our rooms as one of our party was poorly. The hotel is superbly situated just a short walk away from the city walls. Gary recommended the Rustique restaurant for our evening meal and it did not disappoint. Really tasty food and again great staff. You must also visit the best beer garden in York which is at the Lamb and Lion just to the left of the arch in the city wall. We have no negative comments at all and promise to give Lucy some notice when we are coming back so she can get extra supplies of vodka in. See you all soon !!
.

Room Tip: Our room was just over the little courtyard - lovely
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianeS504187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes Town... H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2017

Thank you for your lovely review, we so greatly appreciate your review and wonderful 5 stars.

We greatly appreciated you staying and cheering us up on a dull Monday, you was genuinely a pleasure to look after and I really would love to welcome you back here. We will get stocked up on Vodka and coke and hopefully the dun will be shining in the garden for you.

Thank you once again and see you soon.

Kindest Regards
Lucy Neville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2017 via mobile

Only stayed one night. But fantastic hotel. Clean and tidy. Very welcoming. Staff very helpful. Rooms very "homely" and extremely clean.
Would definitely stay again and would recommend. Close to attractions and lovely walk to City Centre. Quiet location.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Danger001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes Town... H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2017

Thank you for taking the time and leaving your wonderful 5 star review.

Thank you for your kind mentions of our lovely team and clean and tidy hotel.

We would love to have you stay with us again and will look forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest Regards
Lucy Neville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews