We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect little getaway”

Review of Waverley

A cottagey look to a townhouse close the the city centre
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A cottagey look to a townhouse close the the city centre
The living room The living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
61 reviews
A cottagey look to a townhouse close the the city centre
The living room
The living room
The dining area
The newly fitted bathroom
Front bedroom
Front bedroom
Back Bedroom
Attic Bedroom
Attic en suite
Patio
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 61 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
jethie85
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect little getaway”
Reviewed 13 February 2014 for a stay in November 2013

This place is well worth the money!
We chose this spot because it was pet friendly and it certainly did not disappoint.
The house was clean, tidy and well laid out. There was plenty of space for a small family and we found it was great to return yo after a busy day shopping in York.
The owner was very helpful and friendly and we hope to return there again soon.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Mar 2014
Thank you, and thank you for leaving the house so immaculate - finding the bed stripped, the rubbish out AND the fire cleaned was a pleasant surprise!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMB_2000
Ely, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 508 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay when visiting York”
Reviewed 11 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
2
people found this review helpful

After searching for a suitable place to accommodate myself and two adult family members I found the perfect property close to the centre of York. The house is on a lovely, quiet street with plenty of available parking (permit supplied). The house has everything and more than you could need for a short break, although with so many places to eat close by we hardly used the kitchen facilities. All the rooms were cosy and welcoming; I had the loft room which had a lovely comfortable bed and bedding. I am already looking for availability for my next short break. Thank you Mary for your help and your suggestions in response to my queries on places to eat. Hope to visit again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy property and perfect location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Mar 2014
Thank you. I learnt about new places when finding dog-friendly eating places. Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
43Kate
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perefct place for a break in York”
Reviewed 9 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

I stayed in this house with my little boy (21 months), my sister and her 2 children (6 and 10) This is a beautiful house perfectly situated on the edge of the city, witihin 5 minutes you were in the centre of York yet the street was so quiet and peaceful. There was plenty of room for all of us and the kitchen is well equipped if you wish to cook whilst there. My nephew loved having the en suite attic room to his self!

The owners were friendly, helpful and welcoming and we had a thoroughly enjoyable stay there.

Highly recommended and we'd love to stay there again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and 'cottage' feel of the house
Liked least: Nothing- for is it was ideal!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jan 2014
So pleased you had a great stay. We would love you to come again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DawnBerry
Nottinghamshire
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cosy and well equipped house in great location”
Reviewed 8 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

The house was lovely and warm with a real cottagey feel to it, with a wood burning stove and comfy furniture downstairs, and a really well equipped kitchen. All the beds were really comfy and the bedrooms spacious; a young teenager or kid would love the attic room! Bathroom was new, everywhere was clean and there were lots of personal touches to make the house feel cosy. Location is brilliant - just outside the walls - and there was never a problem parking for our two cars. The owners were helpful, even to the point of sending on some of my belongings that i'd left there in error! Thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jan 2014
I'm pleased you liked the house and found it cosy and comfortable - that is how we like it to feel.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welsh2586
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Comfort and perfect location”
Reviewed 3 January 2014 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Review for 12 Waverely Street York.

We were the first visitors to this property which is conveniently located within a few minutes walk off Monkgate which gives you access to the City centre. We parked our car outside the house and did not move it again until we left to drive home!
The house is well appointed and has everything you need; the kitchen is well equipped; having a dishwasher is especially useful. The whole house had been tastefully decorated, retaining its Victorian character. The lounge/dining room is very comfortable and has a wood burner, the weather was cold but we did not feel the need to use it! We have stayed in many self catering properties; this one is at the top of the list.
York is a nightmare for parking but there is no problem on Waverley Street as there is a parking permit, not only can you walk into town, there is a Sainsbury’s supermarket 10 minutes away. We were most impressed with the house and have already booked for next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: bathroom downstairs was very chilly.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jan 2014
You were our 'guinea pigs' being our first guests at this house so we are particularly glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing