We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Izzibizzi
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 7 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

I booked Monks retreat in August as a surprise break for my partner who thought we were going camping! He was over the moon when we arrived, I was too, especially to arrive to a beautifully laid out table with scones and jam, tea, beer and parkin cake! What a treat! So very thoughtful. we had such a warm and friendly welcome. Lots of tips and info on the area which was great. The apartment was just perfect, everything you could possibly need to make your stay comfortable, a very well equipped kitchen, and everything was spotless. fantastic location in the city. I would definitely return and will be recommending it to friends. We had such a wonderful weekend here.

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The table of treats on arrival!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melodytim...
Lethbridge, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We couldn’t be happier with our 5 nights spent at Monks Retreat, a cozy little flat just 2 minutes from Monk Bar and 4 minutes from the Minster. The owners, Mary and Philip, have thought of everything! There is Wi-Fi, a washer/dryer, blow dryer, power converter, iron, ironing board, towels, linens, etc. And the place is clean, clean, clean from top to bottom.

When we arrived Mary had the kettle boiled and scones and ginger parkin waiting on the table. There were also two bottles of local beer for us to sample. Then the duo made sure we fully understood how everything worked and that we were well settled in.

We would definitely stay here again! Very welcoming, perfectly situated for seeing all the sights of York, and no homophobia.

Date of stay: May 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness and location.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2014
Thank you. It was a pleasure to have you to stay.
Cheers,
Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennykain
Canberra, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cosy, Comfortable and Convenient.”
Reviewed 22 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We spent 8 nights at Monks Retreat and were delighted with the accommodation. We are a retired couple and we found it easy to walk to York Minster for Easter Services and easy to walk to the old part of the city to enjoy shops and attractions. There were many restaurants and pubs within close walking distance and there was a supermarket only 5 minutes' walk away. Mary and Philip had fitted the Retreat with absolutely every comfort and convenience imagineable and the kitchen was well equipped. They met us when we arrived and explained the heating, security gate and secure parking for the car. Then they left us to enjoy the cup of coffee, scones and Yorkshire Parkin which they provided to welcome us. We would definitely recommend this property as a great place from which to visit York and surrounding areas.

Date of stay: April 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Secure car parking and closeness to historical part of York.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sbar1980
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful monks retreat - fantastic location and a home from home. Highly recommended!”
Reviewed 26 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We cannot speak highly enough of monks retreat. We had a wonderful stay. We were met by Mary and Philip at monks retreat at 2am after a nightmare trip from London. What a warm and friendly welcome even at that time of the morning. They settled us in and we enjoyed the scones and cake which also welcomed us. After a good night sleep we went into enjoy a fantastic long weekend in York. Monks retreat is fantastically located within minutes of all the main sights and attractions of York. A home for home, it's the prefect place to stay with everything you need and everything thought of onclusing tips on places to visit and delicious places to eat. If your coming to York, look no further for a place to stay. You won't be disappointed by monks retreat. Thank you Mary and Philip for a wonderful break. We hope to visit again!

Date of stay: March 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Apr 2014
It was no problem at all meeting you, even if it was a bit later than planned but train signals aside we are glad you had a lovely time.
Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnglandJu...
England
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Perfect apartment !”
Reviewed 9 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We stayed here for two nights and had a fantastic time. We could not have asked for anything better, the owners have thought of everything and some! The whole apartment is SPOTLESS, beautiful crisp bedding and lovely white towels, even bathrobes. We were greeted with a table set with parkin, scones. jam, butter and beers AMAZING! Finding the apartment was real easy too with the satnav and gated parking was a big bonus in York. It is only a 4 min walk to the minster so the position is great as you don't need your car at all. We ate at Ambiente (Tapas) and Little Italy, both were very good but the Ambiente was AMAZING and both were only a 4 min walk away and next door to each other too so no taxi required! We normally stay in the Marriott hotel when we visit York but who needs a hotel when you have The Monks Retreat??? We will be booking The Monks Retreat again the next time we visit York for sure. Thank you Mary & Philip for all your kindness and hard work that you put into your beautiful apartment ! See you both again S&J xxx

Date of stay: March 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Mar 2014
Thank you. I'm glad we have converted you from staying in a hotel, we will be very happy to have you stay again the next time you visit York.
Cheers,
Mary and Philip
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
US$USD
South Africa
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.