We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming English House!!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Danièle F
Laval, Canada
2 reviews
“Charming English House!!!”
Reviewed 24 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Very well located! 10 minutes from train station. Near York center.

The owners are friendly and thoughtful.

We recommend this appartment without any hesitations.

Merci et bon voyage

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flynnster...
San Jose
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Victorian England at its best and in the best location!”
Reviewed 13 February 2015 for a stay in July 2014

This place is amazing! The folks there could not be nicer! Our host gave us parking passes for street parking at two pounds a day!!! The garage charges we'll you know. You are five minutes walk from the minster and all the shops and cafes you could want. The place has a full kitchen and I love to cook so I shopped with the locals and had some wonderful meals watching the world go by with a great bay window in the dining room. Got to see the Tour de France go by as well!!! You can not beat this place for charm, including your hosts!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Mar 2015
Many thanks for this kind review!
We would like to point out to future guests that car parking is 'off-street', only a 2 min. walk away( after 10 min. allowed for off-loading /loading baggage) at £5.00 per day ; which can be arranged on arrival, if required.
Many guests arrive by rail; due to the situation being very convenient,for both the train station, and the city centre.
M. Davis
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
illuminat...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“great bed, but many irritants”
Reviewed 13 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Couole Management team, wife very nice but the main bug bear her husband- put me off the accomodation that I would never recommend it to anyone.

Rang me in middle of work time to highlight I must arrive with ALL CASH, and insisted I give BOND 200 pounds before I even went there

On day of departure, he had come evening before and said - you must be out by 10am, I said that was fine, all packed in am, at 9.55 am went down to front door for a cigarette before I leave, he actually came down out the front ( before 10 am) and said oh are you ready to go, so so rude, wouldnt stay again due to the Over emphasis on Cash, as soon as you walk in the door, and basically running you out of the place in the morning, very bad taste

If he left it to his wife, hed do more business, no one wants to be treated in that way, rather out of order

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfortable bed
Liked least: way business was conducted
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Dec 2014
Last minute booking, unfortunately. Advised the client to book through Holiday Lettings; said she would like it cheaper, and would pay cash on arrival.Telephoned me from railway station one hour after arrival time given, to state no taxis were available [rather strange!] so I drove to the station to collect her. We did offer possibility of paying by bank transfer, which was declined. We met the following day when we were told she only had approximately half the rental fee. The following day we had to arrange to meet again for the balance. As stated in the review, the lady went outside to smoke at 9.55 a.m. Shortly before 10 a.m.[ her preferred check out time], I asked if the Invoice, which she asked me not to date was suitable for her, and to return the £ 200.00 cheque bond.
Fortunately, as she was going down the stairs, we noticed the keys were missing, and managed to reclaim them.
Rest assured, we tried our best to be helpful,[ see all other reviews] as always;and are somewhat bemused by this review; but not surprised!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnTom P
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Memorable Stay”
Reviewed 6 December 2014 for a stay in September 2014

From the opening of the door we found our hosts most welcoming and friendly. The accommodation is beautifully thought out, They have thought of everything to make the stay as easy and pleasant as possible and we have already recommended this holiday to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Trying to remember the security code(ha ha)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flynnster...
San Jose
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Simply Perfect!”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This place was super easy to find coming up from the south. The parking in York can be a nightmare, and our host took care of it for us for a mere two pounds a day!! Everything we wanted including the Minster was just around the corner. The hosts are charming, the room was spotlessly clean. The kitchen had everything we needed and as I love to cook, it got quite a work out. Nice shower and bath in the room and a nice view of a quiet street to watch daily life in York. Timed it to see the Tour De France and were not disappointed. You simply will not find a better place in town, with better location, better value, or more charming hosts! This place is a must for any future visit we make to York!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The furnishings were beautiful!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$133
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing