We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (961)
Filter reviews
961 results
Traveller rating
649
248
50
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
649
248
50
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bootham suite free bottled water quiet cul de sac homemade granola quiet road city centre minute walk triple room main building leave your car free parking excellent stay great place to stay breakfast was excellent within easy walking distance car park tea and coffee
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 961 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As we booked this 6 months ago we did not expect to be given probably the smallest room in the hotel. Protested and was told that the manager was absent would deal with the matter the following day. Didn’t.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Squeezed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DutyManager_BBYork, General Manager at B+B York, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us here at B+B York - we really appreciate your feedback.

Your feedback allows us to continually monitor the service we're providing to our guests and make adjustments where necessary, making it invaluable.

I'm sorry to read that you found our Standard Double room to be a little compact for your needs, next time you stay may I suggest you speak with a member of our team to make your reservation who can ensure that you are allocated a room that would better suit your needs and wishes.

I'm sorry that I wasn't able to assist you throughout your stay, we very much like to ensure that all of our guests leave our property happy and satisfied.

Please do give me a call next time you'd like to visit York to allow me to discuss a preferential rate and show you what B+B York really has to offer!

Kind Regards,

Michael
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

B + B York was our base for a short ( three day ) trip to York and Whitby . . . .very, very nice, I would recommend to anyone. Everything about our stay was easy and comfortable, the staff are relaxed, friendly and caring . . . .what more do you need than that . . . . superb.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank johngraver2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DutyManager_BBYork, Duty Manager at B+B York, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review of your stay, we really do appreciate it.

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at B+B York and that the staff made you both feel comfortable and relaxed.

Please consider joining our Belong + Benefit loyalty scheme as you'll get access to members only special offers and every seventh night free of charge.

We hope to welcome you back to B+B York in the near future.

Kind Regards
Victoria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel was perfect for location, 10 minutes from all of the tourist attractions. It was very clean & all staff were very friendly. Breakfast was great & really set you up for the day. Lots of local places to eat & drink.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank jcapen494087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DutyManager_BBYork, Duty Manager at B+B York, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review of your stay, we really do appreciate it.

I am pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay with us at B+B York and that you thought breakfast was great - it really is popular with all our guests.

Should you wish to stay with us again, please consider joining our Belong & Benefit loyalty scheme to take advantage of our special offers for members only and every seventh night free of charge.

Kind Regards
Victoria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was our second time here. So obviously our first visit made a lasting impression on us. On arrival, and we were early, Emma, the manager, greeted us warmly and made us feel very welcome. Surprisingly she remembered us from our previous visit. There had been a few structural changes since our first visit but not to the detriment of the building. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the centre of York and should you wish to visit North Yorkshire a right turn will soon have you on the outskirts away from the city with few traffic hold ups. Car parking is a rear bonus in major city's so the free car parking facilities within the grounds is an added 'Yes, let's stay there' call. Should you wish to visit York after your booking out time you may leave your car for a modest fee then collect your vehicle before 6pm for the drive to your next location or home. The room a are clean, tidy and comfortable with on suite facilities. Very little noise can be heard from the street scene or other guests moving about. The great English breakfast is extremely tasty and served to order with enough to keep you on the go for a number of hours. I would highly recommend a stay here when visiting York

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Roy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DutyManager_BBYork, Duty Manager at B+B York, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us here at B+B York - we really appreciate your feedback.

Your feedback allows us to continually monitor the service we're providing to our guests and make adjustments where necessary, making it invaluable.

I'm pleased to read that you enjoyed your second visit to B+B York and our housekeeping team did us proud with the cleanliness of your room. Our hearty breakfast is a great hit with all our guests and it certainly sets you up for a day of sight seeing around York.

Should you wish to stay with us again, please do give us a call, we'll always guarantee the best deal direct!

Kind Regards
Victoria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

free parking is a plus.Good location being able to walk to city center was helpful.The staff were genuinely friendly and made the stay ( my third ) very comfortable. I have no hesitation in recommending the establishment for a stay in York.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 230suzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DutyManager_BBYork, Duty Manager at B+B York, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review of your stay, we do appreciate it.

I am pleased you had an enjoyable stay with us at B+B York and that the staff were very helpful and friendly which made you feel very comfortable, We do pride ourselves on our customer service.


If you're returning to York, please consider signing up for our "Belong + Benefit" membership program, which will give you access to extra-special discounts and offers. We hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards
Victoria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews