We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (944)
Filter reviews
944 results
Traveller rating
635
246
49
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
635
246
49
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbootham suitefree bottled waterquiet cul de sachomemade granolaquiet roadcity centreminute walktriple roommain buildingleave your carfree parkingexcellent staygreat place to staybreakfast was excellenttea and coffeewithin easy walking distancecar park
Filter
Updating list...
392 - 397 of 944 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

York is now one of my favorite cities in the UK and B&B York is one reason. The place was immaculate and comfortable and run well by Mike and his team of super friendly and helpful staff. The room was plenty spacious, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean and spacious. Good water pressure and super hot water. The breakfast was cooked to order and was well done. The location is excellent, just half a mile or so from the city gates, easily walkable. Really enjoyed hanging out in the common areas with other guests in the evenings. There was free coffee and tea and homemade cake each night. Highly Recommend!

Stayed: October 2017
1  Thank Al P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave P, Duty Manager at B+B York, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Thank you Al for your lovely review. Glad to hear that York is now one of your favourite cities and we are one of the reasons. I'm sure Mike will be pleased to be mentioned and will pass on your comments to the rest of the staff. I hope we got you signed up to our Belong and Benefit scheme so can start enjoyed some of the perks. There is always something going on and members can keep up to date with our newsletter. The Christmas markets are coming soon so maybe will see you back again for that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017

Great stay here. The first big tick was the triple room we had booked provided a seperate main room with a single bed area attached, both sharing a common modern bathroom, so a degree of privacy is possible between the areas. Breakfast has good options and sensible size serves. Off street parking and an in house bar are also available. Walk into central York is quite pleasant passing some other dining options.

Room Tip: Great option for a triple is room 39
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank BrianandFab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave P, Duty Manager at B+B York, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Thank you Brian for your five star review. Room 39 is our quad room and guests do like it if they are after that extra bit of privacy rather than getting separate rooms. We always let guests know if they want an extra sausage or piece of bacon to just ask. York has plenty of bars and restaurants to choose from and sometimes spoilt for choice. We hope you enjoyed your time in York and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017

A good place to stay. Very clean. Staff very helpful. Parking good.
In the single room, space in the bathroom and sleeping area was very limited.
I liked the hotel but would have liked more hooks in the shower room. The shower worked very well.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 333mayac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave P, Duty Manager at B+B York, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We do have larger single rooms if you were wanting to come stay with us again. Just get in touch direct as we can always guarantee the best prices.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017

we had a short break 2 day doncaster for wildlife zoo(excellent) then 2 days york we loved all of york and stayed a b+b which was excellent the staff room and breakfast could not be faulted.we also had a beertown tour well worth the time we thoughly enjoyed our stay in york

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank trishapril55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave P, Duty Manager at B+B York, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Thank you for your five star review. We are please to read you enjoyed your stay with us and had a good few days away. I have been reading about the Beertown Tour and am hoping to try that out myself soon! We always have offers on and there is always something going on in York so do take a look at our Belong and Benefit scheme where you can also get a free bottle of bubbly on your first stay. Just give us a call for the best rates.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

Stayed for one night at the B+B York and will be staying here again next time we come to York. Location is great, only a 10 minute walk out of the city centre and down a quiet cul-de-sac, the walk is easy as it's basically straight the whole way to the city gates.
We stayed in one of the rooms in the smaller more modern buildings at the other side of the car park. Room was very big, shower was decent and the bed was very comfortable. Carpet, bathroom suit, beds/sheets and furniture very clean. Probably one of the best nights sleep I've had in a hotel. Rooms have tea (yorkshire tea!) and coffee as well as biscuits. There is also complimentary hot drinks and bottled water in the main building. Breakfast has a large selection and very tasty. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Arrived early before check in time and it wasn't a problem to leave the car there and come back later to check in. Also left the car for the next day after checking out for only £5 which is a pretty decent price. Car park did get full so maybe best to arrive early. Has an electric car charger too.
Only not giving 5 stars because of a couple of little niggley things. Net curtain on windows and tiles in the bathroom had bits of black mould, probably from the windows getting condensation on them, and the plug socket which the kettle was plugged into, and where there was space for phone chargers etc was iffy, had to wiggle the plugs and wires right to get it to stay on. Bottled water in the room would have been nice too as the main building is locked after 11pm until 7am, and I didn't realise I didn't bring any to my room until about half 11.
Saying that I can't really complain for the price! Will come again.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NuclearSynthesis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave P, Duty Manager at B+B York, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave a detailed review of B+B York. We have taken your comments on board about the little niggley things and the rooms you stayed in are now currently being updated. We do leave bottles of water out now after 11pm just in case guests do come back later and want to grab one. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews