We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Express York(York)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$118
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$151
US$122
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$138/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$328
US$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
B+B York(York)(Great Value!)
US$137
US$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The York Priory(York)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$204
US$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$216/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Safestay York(York)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$118
US$46
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$63/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Holiday Inn York City Centre(York)(Great Value!)
US$72
US$68
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 33% below average rates

The price you found is 33% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$102/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (344)
Filter reviews
344 results
Traveller rating
171
89
45
22
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
171
89
45
22
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmuseum gardenscowshed productswell stocked mini barslipper bathundergoing refurbishmentloft roomcity centreyorkshire museumboutique hotelcar parkcoffee machineperfect locationshort walkbasic roomcontinental breakfastlovely walkamazing hotel
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 344 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I very much enjoyed my recent four night stay at the Jorvik. I was in room nine which is a luxury double with a nice bay window overlooking the entrance to the museum gardens. The room is not that big but there is a huge comfortable bed. The cleanliness was excellent and the daily room servicing was mostly pretty good.

The decor of the whole hotel is modern, quirky and refreshing, everything looked pristine and new. The two guys who run the reception desk were helpful, welcoming and friendly, which was appreciated.

Having the optional continental breakfast brought to the room in a paper bag suited me because I was setting off early each morning. It may not suit everyone but there are plenty of places serving conventional breakfasts within easy distance.

I chose the hotel partly because of its location, which is ideal for the Explore Library, the museum gardens and the city centre. Despite this the road was very quiet indeed in the evenings and at night when the museum gardens gates were closed.

Recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moctezuma542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JorvikNewManagement, General Manager at Jorvik House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Moctezuma542,
Thank you for you review and the kind words. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay and hopefully we can welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I enjoyed my trip at the Jorvik house. It is not too far of a walk from the train station and not a far walk from the city centre. The room was clean and the building is well maintained. The staff was very pleasant and kind and check in and out is very simple. Would definitely stay again!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jessolin00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JorvikNewManagement, General Manager at Jorvik House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi jessolin00,
Thank you for your review. Your feedback is excellent and shows that all are efforts are paying off. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Nice hotel ideal location let down by the lack of food facilities. Personally I like the option of a cooked breakfast when away, also you are unable to consume outside food in rooms yet your not providing food services need one or the other really.
Room was small for deluxe smallest I have stayed in. Shower very compact but done the job. Just don’t shower with the door closed. Even with the extractor on it becomes hard too breath with the shower steam as it’s such a small space. Peeling paint shows extraction is not sufficient.
The neighbouring door is very close and loud closing so expect too be woken by that and the noise from there shower and talking.
Shamefully no air conditioning either so did get very hot in the hotel and rooms.
Shame for all the negative points as it’s a lovely hotel in an ideal location and staff are fantastic but let down by the basic stuff. Could be prefect with a bit off tweeking.
Would try somewhere different next time due too this.
Such a shame

Stayed: June 2018
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JorvikNewManagement, General Manager at Jorvik House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Rachel S,
Thank you for your feedback.
All points raised have been noted and passed onto the owners. I'm glad our staff were fantastic during your stay, they pride themselves on excellent customer service and I will pass this on.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had such a lovely stay at the Jorvik house. Our room was just perfect, very comfortable, spotless and well designed. In a perfect location for sight seeing in York!
Really friendly and helpful staff too.. highly recommend!

Stayed: June 2018
Thank Charlottelawrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JorvikNewManagement, General Manager at Jorvik House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Charlottelawrence,
Thank you for the review and pictures. We take pride in guest feedback therefore it is nice to see you enjoyed your stay! Should you wish to book with us again don't hesitate to call us direct.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed with my 85 year old mother in a twin room on the ground floor. The room was delightfully furnished and had a clean fresh feel. The shower room was massive as was the shower head !!
Everyone was friendly and welcoming. But the best part was the close proximity to the museum park literally across the quiet road. 5 minute walk to York minster. I would definitely recommend and visit again.

Room Tip: Bigger selection of tea. I am rather partial to peppermint and there’s no need for milk!!
Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank hallan895984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JorvikNewManagement, General Manager at Jorvik House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi hallan895984,
Thank you for taking time to review us. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back again real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews