We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 244)
Filter reviews
1 246 results
Traveller rating
681
339
132
51
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
681
339
132
51
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cellar bar jacuzzi bath character room main building garden room beautiful building eggs benedict top floor central location lovely hotel no lift york minster beer garden fresh milk car park train station cooked breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 1 246 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

We went to meet friends there because we had been there before and found it to be a nice place aspeically the up stairs bar and roof terrace. This time we went we weren’t a loud to the up stairs bar unless you were eating not good this bar should be open to non eaters as well .So we went back down to bottom bar we’re everybody was waiting to be served the bar staff were that busy taking drinks to tables that were eating that the people that were just there to have a drinks had to wait 20 mins to be served not good enough it’s under new management apparently who have got it so wrong. You also need the people coming in to have drinks as well as the eaters. There was 8 people in our group work it out to how much we would have spent on drinks only if we had stopped. Not everyone wants to eat when they go out into town.Also we had tryed to book a room for the night to be told only two night stays not everyone wants a two night stay money money money and tourists springs to mind never mind the locals who only want one night not impressed at all and yes we have stayed for just one night in this hotel before they changed and became to up market for the good old folk of york.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Stburton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JLRachel_Mayes, Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Thank you for your review and feedback! At the beginning of May we did change the upstairs terrace and bar to dining only this was due to feedback from customers who were unable to enjoy a meal outside the front due to the volume of drinkers around the tables. I am sorry to hear that you had to wait 20 minutes at the bar during busy periods we experience waves of custom which tends to fluctuate depending on the time of day and events on in York. We have always had a 2 night minimum stay on a weekend, we do release 1 night stays closer to the time depending on availability. If you would like to stay in the future please don't hesitate to contact us direct. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018

Stayed here on my own for 2 nights. I really liked the decor. Old, new and a bit quirky...cool bar stools at entrance. Fun how each room is given a name. My room was small but cozy. Perfect for one. Nice furnishings and clean. Weather was warm but the fan proved for the room was great because it was very quiet when running. My room overlooked the street so it was a bit noisy but ear plugs were provided for light sleepers like myself. The only thing missing from the room was a full length mirror. I think this could be easily added to the room. breakfast was very good and staff friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms at back may be quieter at night.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kellykab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JLRachel_Mayes, Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Thank you for your great review! Our bar stools do create a lot of attention due to there quirkiness and even have there own hashtag on twitter #judgeslegs. Due to our fantastic city centre location some noise can be expected and we do try our hardest to eliminate that by providing ear plugs. We will look into providing a mirror for the room you stayed in. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018

This hotel as high standards. Its rooms are very clean and tastefully furnished. The beds are huge. Staff are welcoming and do everything they can to make your stay a good one. You can have breakfast delivered to you room.The hotel is located close to the Minster & centrall for the theatre and shops and all city centre attractions IE pubs restaurants.
You can park at the hotel but there is a charge, I would have no hesitation booking this hotel the next time where in York.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonny4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JLRachel_Mayes, Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

This is a lovely review however we don't believe this is for the right property because we do not have onsite parking and would hate for the property you stayed in to not get the recognition. kind regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

Very nice sat in the sun outside having a few drinks. We decided to eat here later and while the food was ok, an hour later we both felt like we wished we hadn't eaten it. It's not that the food was bad, it wasn't, maybe we just shouldn't have eaten anything battered as that's what we could both taste later. Would we eat here again? Probably, as the place and staff and ambiance are very good

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred_Simons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2018

great hotel loved staying in the courtyard room
staff very friendly the noise from the staff stacking there glasses in the bar until 12 was a little annoying as its 10 yards from your bedroom .
meals were really recommended beer and wine recommended .
2 mins walk from nightlife and shops
tea and coffee available in room but no milk due to heat ,
a smaller coffee machine that adds milk from pods would be a better.
we have booked again and love this hotel

Room Tip: lower floors have noise but ideal for 1 night break
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jenjones0191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JLRachel_Mayes, Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Thank your for your great review! I am sorry to hear about the noise due to the bar, we do try our hardest to keep noise to a minimum and I will speak to staff to make sure they are continuing to adhere to this. We do provide flasks of fresh milk upon check in which then are removed the next day and are advised to come to reception if you would them replenished. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews