We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great bit of fun”
Review of The York Dungeon

The York Dungeon
Book In Advance
More Info
US$17,02*
and up
The York Dungeon
Ranked #4 of 30 Fun & Games in York
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: 2000 Years of York's Dark Grizzly History! The York Dungeon is a must-see, uniquely thrilling attraction that will take you back to the city's darkest history. See, hear, smell and feel York's stories come to life before your eyes as frighteningly funny characters transport you through time. Surprises await you at The Dungeon... Fear the Vikings as they invade and conquer York. Discover Guy Fawkes' Gunpowder Plot and what really happened that November night. And step inside the carriage to the Knavesmire, where one of history's most infamous Highwaymen has returned... Visit our website for more information on opening times. Plus book your tickets online to save money and guarantee entry!
Useful Information: Stairs / lift, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 28 June 2018

This place is brilliant. It was funnier than it was scary but that's not a complaint. We still jumped and got a few scares but not to the point where you didn't want to go on any more. The actors were great. Hats off to the guy in the first room in the church/chapel, an outstanding performance (we visited Monday 25th June 2018 around 1:30pm. If anything I found the walk to the toilets the biggest scare, so well themed!
Great for families and those up for a laugh with a few jumps. Well done to all involved, a great attraction.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank DavidBNorthumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheYorkDungeon, Guest Relations Manager at The York Dungeon, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Thanks for your great review David, and thank you for your kind comments on our actors - they do work hard, don't they!?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4 474)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"great fun"
in 391 reviews
"audience participation"
in 203 reviews
"scary fun"
in 49 reviews
"actors and actresses"
in 47 reviews
"their roles"
in 59 reviews
"special effects"
in 60 reviews
"from room to room"
in 58 reviews
"dick turpin"
in 116 reviews
"guy fawkes"
in 79 reviews
"horrible histories"
in 52 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 216 reviews
"great attraction"
in 64 reviews
"value for money"
in 121 reviews
"witch"
in 160 reviews
"scares"
in 117 reviews
"campy"
in 138 reviews
"plague"
in 115 reviews
Filter

395 - 399 of 4 472 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2018

This is a fantastic thing to do, had a great laugh with other people in our group and the staff to. They do a great job.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank debzmetz83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheYorkDungeon, Guest Relations Manager at The York Dungeon, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Thank you for your great review Debz! We love interacting with our guests, especially when they are up for as much fun as we are!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

Brought our 2 sons 16 and 18 and were slightly worried they wouldn’t enjoy. How wrong I was
We were all ‘picked on’ and laughed and screamed all the way through.
Loved every moment of it

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank ploughnettleham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheYorkDungeon, Guest Relations Manager at The York Dungeon, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

What a great statement! The York Dungeon (although a little dark, and scary) is a family attraction, and we do pride ourselves on making the whole family jump, scream and feel generally uncomfortable!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

not for the faint hearted, excellent interaction the staff were excellent very scary in most parts but I am a scardy cat lol, a little expensive but well worth a visit

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank Katina S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheYorkDungeon, Guest Relations Manager at The York Dungeon, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Thanks for a great review Katina! It is always best to pre-book tickets online, you save some ££ and avoid the queues!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

So never been to york before even though I'm not far in Manchester Actors are fabulous,great for all ages fun whilst being educated

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Rachel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheYorkDungeon, Guest Relations Manager at The York Dungeon, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

I can't believe they let a Lancastrian into York again - we'll have to alert the guards on the City Walls. We are delighted that you enjoyed the York Dungeon however, and that you were able to pick up some fun facts at the same time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The York Dungeon also viewed

 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The York Dungeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing