We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic visit!”
Review of The York Dungeon

The York Dungeon
Book In Advance
More Info
US$17,25*
and up
Skip the Line: The York Dungeon
Ranked #4 of 29 Fun & Games in York
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: 2000 Years of York's Dark Grizzly History! The York Dungeon is a must-see, uniquely thrilling attraction that will take you back to the city's darkest history. See, hear, smell and feel York's stories come to life before your eyes as frighteningly funny characters transport you through time. Surprises await you at The Dungeon... Fear the Vikings as they invade and conquer York. Discover Guy Fawkes' Gunpowder Plot and what really happened that November night. And step inside the carriage to the Knavesmire, where one of history's most infamous Highwaymen has returned... Visit our website for more information on opening times. Plus book your tickets online to save money and guarantee entry!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Stairs / lift, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children
Reviewed 2 April 2018

A must see attraction in York - the people telling the stories of York are fantastic - these guys really know their stuff. They put every effort into telling the gory details - their make up and props are fab! Love this place!

Thank 135frederick1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheYorkDungeon, Guest Relations Manager at The York Dungeon, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

And we love you, Frederick. Although I can assure you that it isn't makeup - the Plague has a terrible effect on the complexion!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4 345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"great fun"
in 357 reviews
"audience participation"
in 191 reviews
"actors and actresses"
in 46 reviews
"scary fun"
in 45 reviews
"nervous disposition"
in 41 reviews
"their roles"
in 56 reviews
"special effects"
in 54 reviews
"from room to room"
in 52 reviews
"dick turpin"
in 107 reviews
"guy fawkes"
in 75 reviews
"horrible histories"
in 48 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 198 reviews
"great attraction"
in 57 reviews
"value for money"
in 110 reviews
"witch"
in 153 reviews
"stake"
in 69 reviews
"scares"
in 104 reviews
Filter

427 - 431 of 4 345 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018

We waited in the queue for this attraction and enjoyed the experience. Good talks on the history of york and what life was like.

Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheYorkDungeon, Guest Relations Manager at The York Dungeon, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Thank you for your review, Philip. If you decide you want to come again, but without the queues, then prebook your tickets through our website for priority entrance to the attraction,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

We bought a £22 ticket that included a trip on the river boat the day before this included the York Dungeon so we went to the dungeon the next day (Sunday morning).
The staff went out of their way to provide an entertaining 2 hrs worth full of history. An excellent entertainment that was experienced by being part of a group that went from room to room jumping in time as you went we were kept on our toes with the special effects, being singled out and hilarity of the group.
We’ve been coming to York for years and must say this is the best experience that we’ve had so add this to your list.

Thank Wor_Lass-001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheYorkDungeon, Guest Relations Manager at The York Dungeon, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. Seems to me that you escaped the executioner's block - you still have your head on straight! Hopefully we see you again the next time you are in York so that we can finish the job properly ...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

BOOm, this is a must in York. A fantastic place to go. 2 hours of absolute fun and horror. I will say no more as it may spoil the surprise. Great for kids and adults.

Thank Philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheYorkDungeon, Guest Relations Manager at The York Dungeon, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Thanks for keeping our secrets, Harry! We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Come to York for my 30th and made this place somewhere we wanted to visit whilst there. We booked online which save
£3 /4 per person so £22 for 2 adults for about 70 -80 mins in the dungeons. Had a great time, was Better than what I expected and would return there again , when my kids are abit older... would scare them to bits now!

Recommend to friends and family as it’s a great attraction.

Thank Ashleymtfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheYorkDungeon, Guest Relations Manager at The York Dungeon, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Thank you for your review and recommendation - we really appreciate it! Great tip, too! Prebooking through our website is our advised way to get your tickets, as not only do you get access to an exclusive online discount, but also priority entrance to the attraction - really useful during busy periods!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The York Dungeon also viewed

 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The York Dungeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing