We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
B+B York(York)(Great Value!)
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$300
US$200
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
US$261
US$211
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Limes(Fulford)
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$252
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The York Priory(York)(Great Value!)
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express York(York)(Great Value!)
US$280
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$211
US$150
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn York City Centre(York)(Great Value!)
US$132
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Safestay York(York)(Great Value!)
US$29
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 37% below average rates

The price you found is 37% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$46/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1 426)
Filter reviews
1 426 results
Traveller rating
676
435
191
89
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
676
435
191
89
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsivy restaurantpremier roommorning roomcar parklovely hoteldrawing roomcity centrethe ground floorfresh milk in the fridgefour posterwedding partyyorkshire breakfasteggs benedictsmall roombooked this hotelyork minsterlovely room
Filter
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 1 426 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2018

We visited York for a few days and booked The Grange due to all of the excellent reviews here on TripAdvisor; I am very pleased we did! The decorations were exquisitely tasteful (our room was equestrian themed), the staff very polite and attentive and the rooms positively lovely and immaculately clean. As an added bonus, our beds were ridiculously comfortable!
As to value, there is no comparison. I've paid twice as much for five-star hotels which were just as good.
We had marvelous breakfasts every morning in their charming restaurant downstairs. The lovely young man who attended to us every morning was a sheer delight and remembered what we liked. We had dinner once and that experience was likewise excellent. I highly recommend the fixed menu as everything on it was superb and for a very reasonable price. I know that I will be staying at The Grange Hotel for my next visit in York.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LitProfessorRoxana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne N, General Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Dear LitProfessorRoxana

Many thanks for your kind comments - much appreciated by all, but especially Ben who served your breakfast. He is a joy to work with (and an excellent composer and musician on the side!) and we are lucky to have him.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards

Suzanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018 via mobile

Stayed there last night and the hotel is very comfortable and staff very pleasant. Only problem would be I expected to turn up and use the car park at the rear free of charge like any other hotel, but there is a £10 charge per day to use it that wasn’t mentioned when booked. There was 2 cars coming so £20 on top of what was already a quite expensive room.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank shmegeger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne N, General Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Dear shmegeger

Many thanks for your comments.

We do our uppermost to ensure our parking policy is extremely transparent - full details are listed on our own and third party websites.

But I trust you enjoyed your time in our great city and we look forward to welcoming you back one day.

Regards

Suzanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2018 via mobile

Just returned from a two night stay with a friend. The hotel had lots of character and all the staff were friendly. We ate in the hotel on the first night, and the food was excellent. It only took us about 10 minutes to walk into the centre of York.
York is a wonderful place to visit and I will definitely be returning, both to York and to this hotel.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank jemma572016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne N, General Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Dear jemma572016

Many thanks for the recommendation - much appreciated!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards

Suzanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018

We stayed for one night for a cheeky midweek getaway while our son was away with school.
The hotel is beautiful! The reception area is like a stately home rather than a city hotel. Our room was lovely too. We had a premier double and were situated at the far end of the hotel, through one of the lounge areas and through a set of double doors. It felt brand new!
The room was large, with a sofa at the foot of the bed and two large windows so it felt airy and bright - even though it was snowing outside!
The bathroom was wonderful. Underfloor heating and a separate bath and show cubicle. There was even a small dressing/hall area in our room where there was an enormous fitted wardrobe, fridge and tea/coffee facilities.

We ate in the Ivy Brasserie which was good too (separate review) but before we ate we had a drink in the upstairs sitting room. That too was like being in a stately home. A proper fire was burning in the hearth and the high ceilings and décor made it feel very grand.

Really helpful and friendly staff too. The breakfast was excellent. A cold buffet to start with and then a full English which was really tasty and well made.

All in all I couldn't fault any of it. We hope to return when the weather is better so we can enjoy York a little more - ten minute walk to the Minster was about all we could manage in the blizzard!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank davesarah71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne N, General Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Dear Davesarah71

Many thanks for the recommendation - your comments are much appreciated! We look forward to welcoming you back in the better weather.

Regards

Suzanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

Stayed on a special deal for two nights. Lovely building with very interesting architecture. Easy walk from railway station but good dedicated parking facilities for car travellers. Ideally located for short walk into York centre.
Room was warm and clean with lovely comfortable king size bed. En suite bathroom had not only a large walk in shower but also a big bath with its own TV for the long soak.
Dining in basement with vaulted ceiling. Food was excellent, not only for evening meal but also for breakfast, with an excellent choice.
Staff were welcoming and very helpful. Decor was charming with some lovely racing theme pictures
All in all a lovely place to stay and would most definitely stay there again.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Howard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne N, General Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Dear Howard K

Many thanks for your kind comments - they do make all the hard work worthwhile!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards

Suzanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews