We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4 679)
Filter reviews
4 679 results
Traveller rating
3 357
787
311
139
85
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3 357
787
311
139
85
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cedar court molton brown toiletries turn down service star hotel rise restaurant lip balm door staff classic room executive room underfloor heating on arrival original features amazing hotel steam room beautiful building double shower separate toilet
Filter
Updating list...
403 - 408 of 4 679 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018

This was our second stay at the Grand, and was just as enjoyable as ever. We stayed in a classic double in the original part of the building, which was spacious, with separate toilet and bathroom, both with underfloor heating. Because we booked last November before the new extension of 100 rooms opened, access to the pool and spa was included in the price; however, you would now have to either upgrade your room or pay an additional £15 each per spa visit to access it now. But for a special treat it is worth it; the staff are great, and service excellent, nothing is too much trouble - for example, one of the doorman got us a couple of decent breakers to replace the small cups in the room, and you can get fresh milk delivered to your door if you don't like the UHT stuff. The hotel is very historic, with lovely wide corridors, a comfortable bar, and excellent lifts. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katarina V, Rooms Division Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Thank you so much for your five star review, I am delighted you enjoyed your most recent stay with us and we hope to welcome you back on many occasions in future.

If there is anything further we can do to improve your stays even further, please do not hesitate to let us know. We will more than happy to help!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Lovely room, good service and a very good price. Parking near by, walking distance to The Shambles, bars and restaurants. Lots of places to visit for families including the sightseeing bus and boat tours. Don’t let the weather spoil a visit.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank MoyWyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katarina V, Rooms Division Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

We are so thrilled you enjoyed your recent visit to York and hope the team assisted in making your experience more memorable with their knowledge and recommendations of the city.

We hope to welcome you back soon, please do not hesitate to contact us directly if we can assist.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Booked this hotel on the last minuit for Easter break, there are good and bad points.

Bad points first, as I like to end on a good note.

The hotel was booked because it is a 5* hotel which is the level I look for, and I didn’t want any requirement to look at booking places to eat as it was unlikely we would get in anywhere decent, at such short notice.

The room booked was a classic room as we were only staying two nights and would be out on the Saturday longer would have required a higher grade of room.

Room was adequate, but there were a few issues which were disappointing
A little bit more information about the room in hindsight would have been useful, but I could have asked.

There is no pillow selection which we have had in other 4/5* hotels we have stayed in, the pillows were to soft for us and offered little support, which had a factor on the nights rest, but the bed was comfortable.

There is a mini bar fridge with wine glasses and bottle opener, but there was little point to this as there was no wine of beer in the fridge, simply the milk for the brewing facilities.

I noticed a number of people coming into the bar for drinks and walking back to their rooms, which seems a bit pointless, I would recommend filling the mini bar, and allowing this to be charged to the room.

There was no bath in the room, only a shower, if I had been informed, I would have looked to upgrade if a room was available.

I would recommend guests ask the location of your room, in relation to the ‘Tanner Row and Georg Hudson St, if you want a decent nights sleep, as on Saturday night, it is like trying to sleep at a football match, as there is a night club on the corner with the music blearing out until 4am and drunks, who think they are auditioning for A TV talent show cutting through Tanner Row, which acts as an amplifier, this went on until around 5am.

The Rise restaurant, wine list was a real disappointment, very poor quality wines, I have never been in a restaurant which only has six wines (red) on the list and one of these was not available, the bar also only had one of the local ales available, for a 5* hotel this was point really needs to be looked at. The food in the restaurant was very nice but the place lacks atmosphere and the level of the music, means you cannot not have a conversation at normal volume, it made for a conversation point with the couple on the next table, as when the music stopped at one point, they found themselves shouting.

There was some confusion on checking out, before we travelled we received a phone call from the hotel, informing us the allowance towards the food within the restaurant had been increased form £25 per person to £35, but this information as not passed to the reception, and on checking out resulted in some confusion and hold up, but it was sorted out eventually, may I suggest the information given to the client is passed onto the reception also during this phone call, some information in relation to the facilities in the room are passed on to the client, this being the case, relating to the mini bar, bath, location of room relation to the street, and possibly the pillows requirement could have been avoided, as I would have looked to upgrade if required, should there have been availability.

Good points

The service, the manager should congratulate the staff on the level of service this was first class, especially in the reception area.

The room was clean and appointed to a good standard conceding it was a basic level.

The breakfast was very good quality, with a good selection and staff were very helpful, one suggestion would be to relocate the toaster, its location results in two lines forming which clashed in the middle of the serving area, a plate was knocked out of a lady’s hand on the Saturday morning, due to the level of movement in different directions at this point and there are kids, running round, presents a high risk of accidents.

On Saturday we booked into the Hudson’s Restaurant, this was more like the 5* we expect, the service and knowledge of the staff being first class, the food is on a different level to the ‘The rise’ if we book in to the hotel next time we are in York, I will make a point of booking into Hudson’s again, even if not staying at the hotel, not sure how often the menu changes.

The bar has a good selection of spirits, only wish the wine list was as well stocked.

I hope this review has been helpful to all parties, would I stay at the hotel again, yes without question, but I would be asking questions to my points raised which would have an influence on my booking.

Room Tip: I would recommend guests ask the location of your room, in relation to the ‘Tanner Row and Georg Hudson St.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank adrian d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katarina V, Rooms Division Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Thank you so much for your detailed feedback following your recent stay with us. I am delighted you would return to the hotel despite the issues you have raised - we will certainly take this on board to make improvements where necessary.

Please do contact us directly for any future reservations so we can ensure you are well looked after and so we can meet your expectations - we understand how individual every guest's needs are and our dedicated team are here to assist in every point. Rest assured we will be happy to help and we can't wait to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

My partner booked the Grand as a last minute getaway over Easter and we were certainly not disappointed! The room, the staff, the atmosphere, everything was amazing! Whilst we did not use the spa, restaurant or bar, everything in our room was perfect, smart TV comfy bed, complimentary water, tea and coffee and the most delicious shortbread! The Molten Brown bathroom goodies were a nice touch too!
We only stayed a night but were able to drop our bags off before we checked in and also leave them there before catching our train home. Perfect location and an amazing place, we would definitely stay again! Special thanks to Alan the concierge for looking after our bags and escorting us to our room!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank catriona159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katarina V, Rooms Division Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Thank you so much for your compliments, we are so delighted to have impressed over Easter and delighted to have made a last minute trip so memorable.

Alan is delighted to read your comments, this is so appreciated as a huge motivating factor for the team's continued hard work.

We can't wait to welcome you back and hope you will contact us directly if we can do anything further to ensure you are well looked after.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

We visited the hotel in March and had a fantastic time. We paid extra for a deluxe room and the extra space in the room was a lovely luxury. As was access to the white rose lounge, which after a hard day sightseeing was the perfect space to relax in. The Rise restaurant is also a must and we are complete converts to Yorkshire tapas. This is the perfect hotel to explore York and the staff were friendly and highly professional.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Suzanne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katarina V, Rooms Division Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Thank you so much for your five star review - we are delighted you were so pleased with the spacious room and with the new facilities we have recently opened such as The White Rose Lounge, included as part of the room rate for all suites.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back shortly. Please do let us know if we can assist in any way!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews