We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just as good the second time around!"”
other travellers have booked this property
14 Talbot Court
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
14 Talbot Court
Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
57 reviews
14 Talbot Court
Bedroom
Sitting area
Sitting area
Bathroom
Dining area
Sitting area seen from dining area
Bedroom
Mediaeval exterior
Minster view
Private gardens
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 57 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mysteryfa...
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Just as good the second time around!"”
Reviewed 11 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

This was our third visit to York and our second time renting John and Helena's excellent apartment. The apartment is well stocked with all the essentials, the bed is comfortable and the bathroom quite large and fitted with the very chic Molton Brown bath products. The location could not be better; inside the ancient walls of York and in the middle of all the historic attractions and dining. Yet, within a few minutes drive outside of the City, you are in the glorious countryside that is England! Castle Howard, the Yorkshire Moors to the east and the Dales to the west, Whitby on the coast, as well as the major cities of Leeds and Manchester and all the lovely countryside in-between. Needless to say, the jewel in York is the Minster and all the secrets it holds. Make sure you check on what's going on in York Minister. The evensong is a popular event and in December we were lucky enough to attend the Advent service and had gotten advance tickets to the Christmas Carol concert which was the highlight of our December trip. We love York! Try the Le Rustique Resturant for dinner and Starbucks is down the street from the apartment! (For my fellow American aficionados of Starbucks),many other fine places to eat as well. John has some listed in his information in the apartment. The apartment itself is tight for four, better for three ( there's a pull out couch in the LR, but ideal for two. He and Helena have another apartment on Stonegate that's more suitable for four adults; a two bedroom. Check it out. Enjoy your stay in this fantastic city. We can't wait to return again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol M
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect location, helpful and friendly owners and a beautifully furnished apartment”
Reviewed 14 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We booked Talbot Court for a weekend away. We originally looked at booking a hotel, but as we were staying for 3 nights we decided to pay a little bit extra and have an apartment we could live in rather than just stay in, it was defiantly worth it. The apartment was everything we needed and more. Not only was it cosy and true to life to the pictures on the booking site, but we found it exceeded our expectations. Perfectly located with views of York Minster the apartment was in the centre of everywhere we wanted to go. The owners of the property also ensured we found the property with ease (with the most detailed and accurate directions I have ever seen) and that we had everything we needed during our stay. I would highly recommend this apartment to anyone who wants a little bit of homely luxury in an ideal location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian196507...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“First Class Central Location in York”
Reviewed 6 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The appartment is so central you quite literally walk out of the door into the centre of York. Internally it is clean, modern and well maintained with an excellant kitchen if you dont want to eat out every evening. We particularly loved the lovely touch by the owner of leaving a Betty's cake and Yorkshire tea for our arrival.
As you'd expect in such a central location we spent relatively little time in the appartment but it was great when we had shopping thatwe could quite literally pop in a drop it off before headiing out again. It was also nice being able to eat in in the vening and head out for a drink afterwards.
In the immediate local I'd particluarly recommend the Filmore and Union coffee shop which is next door and the Leeds Brewery Duke of York pub which is just down the road and does fabulous sandwiches.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Central location
Liked least: Wall attached shelf in bedroom by the bed!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B
Western Australia, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful host, amazing location!”
Reviewed 3 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at 14 Talbot Court.
John was so welcoming, sharing his local knowledge about the town of York and surrounding areas. The apartment is incredibly central. You literally step out your door into the bustling York streets, yet it is very quite at night.
York is fantastic town to visit with kids. We would love to Stay in John's apartment again in the future.
Andrew and Carolyn
Australia

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mexicanli...
Conwy County, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellant apartment in the heart of York”
Reviewed 1 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

The whole process of booking and arriving at the apartment was so very easy with the prompt and professional service by John Reddick. (Manager / Owner). The welcome gifts to the apartment were touching.

The only slight issue we had was that there was slightly more dust / hair in the apartment than we would of expected. The apartment appeared perfect but as we used it during the stay it became apparent certain areas have been missed in a cleaning schedule. These areas were not hidden corners or under furniture but areas of frequent use.
Secondly, it was slightly noisy at night, with people talking/laughing/shouting out side, which could be heard even with windows closed. Keeping in mind the apartment was on the second floor. I appreciate that in a city centre it is sometimes hard to avoid some noise pollution, even so was surprised with the volume level. The noise pollution also occur at 5.30am sounded like emptying of bins, 'Bottles' or a delivery to local business, again surprised as most other city's have a curfew on such activates happening until later on of a morning.
However, other than the two above points we cannot fault this apartment and would recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2013
We are delighted that ‘Mexicanlights’ found the apartment “excellent” and our service “prompt and professional”, and would recommend the apartment to their best friend. But we are bemused by the comment about areas of the floors having allegedly been “missed in the cleaning schedule”, resulting in “more dust/hair than we would have expected”. We ourselves service the apartment between guests, and we unfailingly vacuum every square inch of the floors as part of our commitment to absolute cleanliness - a commitment reflected in the fact that almost all of the previous 17 reviewers specifically highlight this aspect (‘very clean’, ‘sparkling’, ‘very clean’, ‘spotlessly clean’, ‘absolutely spotless’, etc.). We think the explanation lies in Mexicanlights’ admission that the floors seemed “perfect” to start with and only seemed dusty later on: the dust and hair were in fact clearly their own, for the ubiquitous maplewood flooring unfortunately offers no hiding place to whatever drops onto it.
As for the remark that the apartment was “slightly noisy at night”, we would simply ask readers to look at our other reviews - for instance the review entitled “No better place to stay”, where our guest remarks that “the flat is quiet, even with the back corner of a pub discreetly visible fifty yards away across the roofs seen out of the window - truly amazing, particularly for a location in the heart of a city with York’s energy”.
We hope you will not be put off by Mexicanlights’ reservations: you will find 14 Talbot Court simply exemplary in its cleanness, and exceptionally quiet for an apartment in the very heart of a lively, bustling city!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing