We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely apartment”
other travellers have booked this property
Lounge with log burner, oak floors, slate feature wall wall and crystal chandelier.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge with log burner, oak floors, slate feature wall wall and crystal chandelier.
Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
Lounge with log burner, oak floors, slate feature wall wall and crystal chandelier.
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge with Log Burner
Kitchen Leading to Balcony
Kitchen Leading to Balcony
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Shower Room
Shower Room
Grand Staircase
Balcony View
Balcony View
Balcony View
Metropole Towers - the building from West Cliff
Old Postcard
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
sharonaba...
Cheshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely apartment”
Reviewed 23 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We are just back from 3 nights in this apartment. We travelled as a couple with a 4 year old daughter. This apartment is lovely. It has everything you need plus more. The welcome hamper was great, my daughter loved the kinder chocolate. The teddy and book for her were a thoughtful touch too and I appreciated the flowers. This accommodation is in a perfect spot opposite the beach.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2016
Thank you for the very kind review, so pleased you enjoyed the little touches and had sunshine to enjoy the sands :) Sean & Holga x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve R
Barton under Needwood, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed 21 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

From the minute you open the door to this property, its superb all the way, clean tidy, very well equipped, lovely welcome pack. A truly nice place to stay .
Would reccomend to anyone

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2016
Thank you for the wonderful review and comments in the visitors book, much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul R
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent Accommodation”
Reviewed 6 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Stayed at Boutique Balcony with our son, daughter in law and 3 month old grandson and could not fault the accommodation. Prior to our stay Sean contacted us to advise on how to collect the key and to ask our preferences for the welcome pack of milk, bacon, etc that he provides. The accommodation is on the third floor and there is a lift or a rather grand staircase to get there. The interior of the accommodation is well laid out with a well equipped kitchen with dishwasher, lounge with two leather sofas and a wood burning stove, two bedrooms, one with a double bed and one with a double with bunk above. There is also a washer/dryer provided, very useful with a 3 month old baby. We really could not fault anything. In addition to the wood burner there the flat is centrally heated, very welcome as the weather during our stay was a
cold northerly wind.
Sean was in touch by text during our stay to make sure that everything was ok and as there was no booking for the day that we were due to leave offered to extend our stay, an offer that we gladly took up.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2016
Thank you so much. Sorry about the weather during your stay but pleased you were able to stay toasty warm in front of the log burner, it's great to watch the flames on those chilly days. Hopefully you will return some day and there will be some sunshine in Whitby for you. Sean & Holga.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda o
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a hidden jewel in whitby”
Reviewed 25 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

one of the best self catering apartments I have stayed in.Good location,beautiful décor, attention to detail with extra special touches beyond the call of duty,with exceptional personal service.Sea views,restaurants galore in walking distance.Every whim is catered for with this rental so be in Whitby be in "Boutique Balcony" Strongly recommended

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2016
Wow, thank you so much Linda. We are made up that you think this is one of the best self catering apartments you have stayed in. We hope you return to Boutique Balcony some time. Sean & Holga.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swayze_tr...
Salford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb accommodation, location, and owners.”
Reviewed 23 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Seasoned whitby goers will be well aware of the impsing Metropole building, and its old staircase to the apartment retains its grandeur. Once inside the apartment itself doesnt let down. Fantastic use of space, modern throughout, immaculately clean, comfy bed and a shower you dont want to get out of. The owners go to great detail making sure you are more than comfortable, and we couldnt have asked for more. We were also provided with a parking permit so we could park outside the building or in any of the appropriate disc zones in the town.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2016
Thank you so much. It's lovely to read comments like "immaculately clean". We do all our own cleaning and would never trust a third party company to clean for us which is unique to ourselves in the Metropole building, so it's nice to hear our aim for the highest level of cleanliness is being achieved. Parking is always stress free when staying at Boutique Balcony with passes for as many cars as you bring with lots of spaces right outside. We hope you return to us some day. Sean & Holga.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing