We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage in the centre of Whitby with great...”
other travellers have booked this property
View over Whitby from the galleried landing
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View over Whitby from the galleried landing
Front of the cottage Siting room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
View over Whitby from the galleried landing
Front of the cottage
Siting room
Sitting room
Dining kitchen
Dining kitchen
Dining kitchen
Master bedroom, first floor
Master bedroom, first floor
Double bedroom, top floor
Top floor double bedroom
Twin bedroom, top floor
Top floor shower room
Top floor galleried landing
Galleried landing, top floor
Top floor galleried landing
View from the rear of the cottage
View from the rear of the cottage
Top floor landing window
Top floor landing window
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Becky C
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in the centre of Whitby with great views!”
Reviewed 5 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at September Cottage for a long weekend and really enjoyed our stay. The cottage was very clean and all the essentials were provided. We have good communication from the owners before hand and there is a helpful instruction folder in the cottage. The cottage is in the centre of Whitby with the shops a couple of minutes walk away. The parking permits meant we could park within a 5 minute walk of the cottage. The views from the first and second floor snugs/sitting areas were great and we would definately stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Feb 2017
Thank you for your very well-written review. We do appreciate people taking the time and trouble to comment.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevetoon...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Short stay”
Reviewed 11 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful short break over the New Year at September Cottage, it is in a great location and the cottage itself is excellent. With wonderful views over to the Abbey and sea. Only problem is with views like that it is hard to move yourself. All five of us who stayed there all said we would stay at September Cottage again. It was great.
Thank you
Steve, June, Brian, Violet and Barbara

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jan 2017
Thank you for your kind words. We are so pleased that you all enjoyed our cottage. The view is especially good in Winter when the trees are bare.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annaosha
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage Outstanding Views”
Reviewed 27 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

The first thing that you notice when you arrive are the stunning views from the kitchen window overlooking the Abbey, church and harbour. The view does not disappoint as you go upstairs, it just gets better!
The cottage is beautifully done out with enough space for 6 people to sleep as well as stay in the cottage. We rented the cottage over Christmas and with its location perfect for views as well as being able to access everywhere I will without a doubt be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Dec 2016
Thank you so much for your super review. It was nice to bump into you all; you were a very happy bunch!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marie j
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“never want to leave”
Reviewed 13 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Lynne and family have been the best. We booked well in advance after checking it out on Trip Advisor, so pleased we chose this cottage. Set in middle of town, just off Flowergate, easy walking to everywhere. Set on three floors with 3 bedrooms, all double and two bathrooms, the style is quaint but comfortable, which is the style of the cottage. Very well cared for. The bedroom on first floor has three poster bed, en suite bathroom with good shower. Plus a small snug with views overlooking the town Second floor has two double bedrooms and bathroom, with views over the town from the to of the stairs. Everything is provided down to games and books, in case of rainy days. Plus the parking permits is great idea as parking is not easy in Whitby as still in October a very popular place to stay. Very good Wi-Fi ,tv mobile reception, .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Oct 2016
Thank you so much for your review. We really do appreciate your kind words. I wish that I could hope for a speedy return visit, but you do live rather a long way away to become a regular!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
212Stag
Drogheda, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Cottage”
Reviewed 7 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This cottage has everything you could ever need, a real home from home and is a credit to the owners. I especially liked the views from the top floor, the owners even provide binoculars, a nice touch.
Personally I found it a little inconvenient not to have our car close by, this is obviously out of the control of the owners of the cottage who do their best to mitigate the issue by providing a parking pass for a large car park at the leisure centre.
One thing to note is there was building work being carried out across the road at the time of our stay and we were woken up every morning at 8:00 AM - not great when you're on holiday and looking forward to a good rest - again out of the control of the owners.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2016
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to report that the building work is now finished. You are quite right that parking is a problem in Whitby, but the narrow streets are part of the charm of the place. Better that they are not bulldozed and replaced by modern housing! Some people prefer to park up in the big car park than keep negotiating the town streets.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing