We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“nice stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Country Cottage

Country Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Country Cottage
Double bedroom Bathroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
21 reviews
Country Cottage
Double bedroom
Bathroom
Twin room
Living room
Kitchen and dining area
The Games room
Just round the corner
The cinder track entrance
Countryside views
The playground
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
spireiteb...
chesterfield
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“nice stay”
Reviewed 31 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We recently stayed in the country cottage for 4 nights and have to say location wise it is spot on. 5 minute drive or 30 minute walk to the town centre and the Sainsbury's at the end of the long lane/drive is very handy!

Friendly greeting by Laurie the owner who showed us around and was constantly maintaining the grounds during the rest of our stay.

The cottage itself is well appointed with pretty much everything you could want and overlooks a meadow. You can park smack next to the door which has a ramp so is good for pushchairs/wheelchairs.

The kitchen comes with fridge, washing machine, cooker etc and an oil burning central heating boiler which produced plenty of hot water for a good shower! It turned itself off at some point and I couldn't get it to work but the owner sorted it straight away.

The only slight gripe with the cottage is that the beds have seen better days and a couple of new mattresses would be good!

The cinder track nearby is great for a walk into Whitby or to Robin Hoods bay....but you will need to be fit for the latter!

All in all a very nice stay in a well maintained site but one word of caution! It is next to a water treatment site, which is quiet and you generally wouldn't know it was there... until the wind blows towards the cottage and then the aroma is a bit ripe to say the least!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pataw101
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nearly Excellent”
Reviewed 12 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

This cottage is absolutely ideal for those wanting peace and quiet, yet it's easy to reach all the other places you might want to see in, Whitby. Food shopping is available at, Sainsbury's across the main road at the bottom of the hill - very convenient.
However, I did book this cottage thinking that I would have access to wifi, (which I needed because of writing commitments), and although we were told on the cottage information it might not be available to all, this was not stated prior to booking. There was also a fault with the wifi but there wasn't anybody available to fix it.
For use by disabled would have benefitted from a handrail outside and a handle to hold while showering.
However, I don't want to put anybody off. It is a great place and the owners are a joy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Lack of internet
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beach105
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very tired cottage in need of a makeover”
Reviewed 3 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Upon arrival other guests had been checked into our cottage and we had to wait 20mins for them to re-pack their belongings and leave before we could enter. The cottage was clean but very tired looking ie with dirty carpets. Neither me or my husband have long hair however there were long hairs in our bed. On the plus side the owners were pleasant and quickly sorted the mix up with our accomodation ( leaving a box of chocolates and a box of eggs) and good location as very close to Whitby.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The overall state of the cottage
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Nov 2014
Thank you for taking time to review Country Cottage. We are very sorry other guests had gone into the wrong cottage! We are glad you enjoyed our free range eggs laid by our hens and we are pleased to accommodate for a one night stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alanfrizz...
Prudhoe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent cottage for elderly or disabled”
Reviewed 18 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Cottage spacious, well equipped, well insulated, warm. Owners most helpful but not intrusive. Adaptations for disability were most welcome.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2014
Thank you for taking time to review our cottage. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
110Phil66
york
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 21 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed for three nights excellent accomodation and area the kids really enjoyed there stay making loads of friends ,loved the games room and park will definatley book again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The Area
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay here and we hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing