We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Wick Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Family bathroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
57 reviews
Family bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 57 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Carole J
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic Cottage”
Reviewed 11 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Travelled with sisters celebrating special birthday for long weekend. Super accommodation and very central. Everything you could need is available, wife iPod docking station, Sky etc. Lovely touch of fresh flowers and chocolates by owner. Very clean and will recommend to friends and family. A little noise from pub nearby but did not deter from having wonderful stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Lots of stairs
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 May 2015
Thank you so much for the review. Hope you decide to visit again soon :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mick W
Stafford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“FANTASTIC”
Reviewed 12 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The cottage was very clean and had absolutely everything you would likely require, a real home from home. I like the little finishing touches like the fresh flowers, chocolates and biscuits left for us on our arrival and also the teddy bears, on each bed, were a nice touch. You needed to take nothing with you (apart from clothes) as the cottage was ready for anyone to live in long term, not just for a holiday. Very well thought out for all family needs. Also the car parking space was a great advantage. I would recommend this cottage to everyone I know.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall cleanliness of the property
Liked least: The hills of Whitby
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2015
Thank you so much for your review. It was 'Fantastic' !! Hope you visit again soon :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zosja
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a find?”
Reviewed 4 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We could have so easily not have booked Wick Cottage, as we were let down by another Whitby property, but I'm so glad that we did. The first property could never have delivered the fantastic experience that Wick Cottage gave us, at such a realistic price. The pictures do not do it justice, and it's position in the town was first class. The cottage has been laid out to its full potential and my only regret was that we only had 3 nights to enjoy what it had to offer. We will certainly be back again. And finally, a big thank you to the man who double booked our first property. Without him, our Whitby stay might not have been quite so good:-)

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
libbyl00
middlesbrough
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“What a lovely Cottage!”
Reviewed 1 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Stayed here over Christmas with my daughter.
On arrival we were surprised and delighted with some thoughtful extras - fresh flowers, chocolates, biscuits and wine, the cottage also had a Christmas tree and tasteful decorations set up so there was a festive atmosphere.
The cottage was IMMACULATE, very cosy, comfortable, well equipped and stylish.
The price we paid for 3 nights was extremely reasonable for that time of year - I notice the price has gone up considerably for next year - however I'm not surprised, it still offers fantastic value for money for what you get. We are considering staying here again this year during the summer, the private little patio area would be a bonus then.
Also must mention that Sharan, the owner, was a pleasure to communicate with, very friendly and helpful.
One of the nicest cottages I've stayed in, and I stay here at least twice a year and have done for over 25 years -well done!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything - central location, comfort, cleanliness...
Liked least: Nothing comes to mind
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rachael s
liverpool
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage!”
Reviewed 1 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for a long weekend here in October. We loved the cottage. Excellent position in Whitby, we could walk to everything in the town. Cottage had so much character. Lovely beams, staircases etc. Three lovely bedrooms. Cottage was spotlessly clean and very well equipped for self catering. Children loved all the teddies, and the biscuits and chocolates provided on arrival etc. They even put fresh flowers on the table. We are going to stay again next year but for longer. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing