We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Little Gem in Whitby”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Maritimus Cottage

A view of the riverside cottages - Maritimus 2nd from the right
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A view of the riverside cottages - Maritimus 2nd from the right
A view of the cottage from the riverside beach. The view from the front room .... you don't get closer to the river and beach than this !!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
56 reviews
A view of the riverside cottages - Maritimus 2nd from the right
A view of the cottage from the riverside beach.
The view from the front room .... you don't get closer to the river and beach than this !!
Master bedroom benefits from en-suite facilities, solid oak furniture, wardrobe and bedside table.
Additional double bedroom with fabulous views across the harbour.
View from the upstairs double bedroom window.
Single bedroom with views across the harbour.
Lounge area with 40 inch flat screen TV, DVD and Sky TV.
View from the lounge window
Family bathroom with large shower and roll top bath.
Modern galley kitchen with induction hob and oven, microwave, dishwasher and refrigerator.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
KSander1
Stevenage, United Kingdom
1 review
“Little Gem in Whitby”
Reviewed 28 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We stayed for a week in Maritimus in late November. The cottage is ideally placed just off of Church Street, overlooking the harbour & within a few minutes walk of numerous pubs, restaurants, the Abbey & all the Whitby attractions. It's obvious that a lot of thought and effort has gone into the cottage and we had a very comfortable & enjoyable week. If travelling by car, the nearest car park is a 2 or 3 minute walk away and a prepaid ticket costs £49 for 7 days (as at November 2016). We found that finding a parking space on a Friday or Saturday evening was tricky and the next nearest car park is a few more minutes walk away but this was no problem for us.

All in all an enjoyable stay & we'd definitely love to stay in Maritimus again when returning to Whitby.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Nov 2016
Many thanks for your review. I do like to ensure that the cottage has that home away from home feel and, given its location, makes your holiday more enjoyable throughout. I hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Whitby.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view of the harbour
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
9 Oct 2016
Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed the harbour view - watching everything that goes on throughout the day and into the night can be a full time holiday occupation. I hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Whitby.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
M4tt_85
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Honeymoon”
Reviewed 1 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We stayed here for our honeymoon and found this to be a stunning cottage with a lot to offer and very homely feel. The cottage is in an ideal location as the town and beach are a stones throw away from the front door. It has perfect views of the harbour from the living room and bedroom windows. We felt very relaxed and didn't want to leave

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Oct 2016
Thank you for your review. I am glad enjoyed your stay in the cottage with its sea views and central location. I look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Whitby.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rolo92
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful cottage”
Reviewed 30 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

In a wonderful location - this cottage has wonderful views across the harbour- allowing you to watch the boats come in and out. The cottage is very well decorated and feels lovely and homey. Only downside we could find from our stay was the board games; all where a little tired and had pieces missing, and could do with a tray for the cutlery drawer- (being very accident prone and having loose knives was a recipe for disaster!!).
I would recommend this cottage for anyone wanting to truly explore Whitby, as others have said it would be suited for those with physical disabilities but for us - the stairs just added to the charm!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Oct 2016
Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed the home away home feel. I'll update the games box with some new games and look into adding a cutlery tray in the kitchen as well. I hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Whitby.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dazbex
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“We had the best time!”
Reviewed 14 September 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Our family, 2 adults and 3 children, had the best holiday. Whitby was fantastic, the weather was kind and Maritimus cottage was fab! Well equiped,comfortable and quirky. So close to the beach,shops,Abbey and with an awesome ever changing view from the living room window! Many evenings spent with a glass of something, watching the world,boats and the rowers go by. Our children were fascinated by whether the sea was in or out and how much beach there was left.The owner Adam was also great, quick to sort the one tiny issue we had. The kettle gave up on day one but was replaced very quickly. Being so close to everything meant we could pop out to the beach or for an lemon top ice cream without packing up for the day. We loved this little cottage and have wonderful memories of Whitby. We hope to visit again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Sep 2016
Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed the your stay. The cottage is great for watching all that goes on in the sea and the little beach right outside the windows. I hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Whitby.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing